Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    10,065
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    44,063 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    This is what a 10,000 unit space battle looks like

    Oxide Games, a small studio founded by former Civilization developers, has released a video showcasing its 64-bit Nitrous game engine - and it's worth a watch.

    The Star Swarm tech demo shows off a 10,000 unit space battle and explains how Nitrous is powered by AMD's Mantle API.

    Oxide Games has three Nitrous-fuelled projects in development, it said, and promises to release the Star Swarm tech demo on Steam soon. Civilization 4 lead designer Soren Johnson is using it to build his new project Mars.
    Source

  2. #2
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    The amount of stuff occurring on the screen is quite impressive, everything else is not. I dont really understand people who play space games.

  3. #3
    Friendship is Carrots
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    22
    Posts
    15,806
    Rep Power
    135
    Points
    82,243 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    That's extremely impressive. Imagine this kind of tech in another 5-10 years, where we have CGI-esque graphics and ship destruction in real-time.
    Add me on Steam!


    [Forum Rules]
    - [PSN] - [Programmers' Corner]

  4. #4
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,943
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,533 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    So this game would only work on AMD cards 7000 series and up?

  5. #5
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    So this game would only work on AMD cards 7000 series and up?
    Currently yes as they have stated in the article.

  6. #6
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,943
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,533 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Currently yes as they have stated in the article.
    If they did state that I wouldn't have posted what I posted.

  7. #7
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    If they did state that I wouldn't have posted what I posted.
    The Star Swarm tech demo shows off a 10,000 unit space battle and explains how Nitrous is powered by AMD's Mantle API.

    Nitrous is powered by the AMDs Mantle API, Nvidia cards dont have this feature.

  8. #8
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,943
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,533 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    The Star Swarm tech demo shows off a 10,000 unit space battle and explains how Nitrous is powered by AMD's Mantle API.

    Nitrous is powered by the AMDs Mantle API, Nvidia cards dont have this feature.
    Nowhere does the article say that.

  9. #9
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Nowhere does the article say that.
    How can then an Nvidia card have an AMD powered feature on which the engine relies?

  10. #10
    Elite Member
    LM-93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cleethorpes
    PSN ID
    LM-93
    Age
    21
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    8,274 (0 Banked)
    Items Battlefield 3AppleAvenged SevenfoldEA SportsJoker (limited ICON)Metallica
    Maybe a slight bit TOO much going on; but looks absolutely epic nonetheless

    PSN: LM-93
    Lets Play!
    PS4.

  11. #11
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,943
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,533 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    How can then an Nvidia card have an AMD powered feature on which the engine relies?
    You made it look like the article stated that by quoting text and adding text that doesn't exist in the article.

  12. #12
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    You made it look like the article stated that by quoting text and adding text that doesn't exist in the article.
    The Star Swarm tech demo shows off a 10,000 unit space battle and explains how Nitrous is powered by AMD's Mantle API.

    The above is stated in the article or at least in the quote of the threads creator.

  13. #13
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,943
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,533 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yes that is.
    Not disputing that it will only run on AMD cards as of now. Just find it odd they create a game that only uses it. Or does it use OpenGL or Direct X as well?

    Half life 1 you could switch between OpenGL (default) and direct X.
    If you have the latest download from steam its OpenGL only, but if you have an original CD version you can switch between the 2.
    Last edited by keefy; 01-18-2014 at 19:53.

  14. #14
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,824
    Rep Power
    86
    Points
    10,258 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Yes that is.
    Not disputing that it will only run on AMD cards as of now. Just find it odd they create a game that only uses it. Or does it use OpenGL or Direct X as well?
    They created their renderer first to DX11, then ported it to Mantle.
    So currently the preferred paths are Mantle for AMD and DX11 for Nvidia and Intel.

    The decoupled shading and such methods are used in both Mantle and DX11 paths.
    -------
    Couple of nice blog posts about OpenGL.
    The Truth on OpenGL Driver Quality
    Things that drive me nuts about OpenGL

  15. #15
    Super Elite
    MacP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Essex, England.
    Posts
    2,327
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    6,188 (0 Banked)
    Now if Halo were to be released on PC and use this engine then I would be interested.
    Sent from my computer using keyboard.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.