Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3

    Can someone tell me what is going with my PS1 system?

    As we know you can't play any imports or backup games unless the PS1 has been modded. My PS1 system is playing copy games and its NTSC US and not modded. I burned a copy of Driver 1 and it worked but when I tried my Winning Eleven 4 Japanese game it didn't. And also my friend gave me a burned PS1 game and it worked as well on it. What is happening? Iam confused


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  2. #2
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Sorry cant help you much with that issue, havent used a ps1 since ages.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,275
    Rep Power
    140
    Points
    75,543 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Are you sure it is not modded? I added a mod chip to my PS1 back in the day, and it would not run backups without that chip.

  4. #4
    Trying not to break stuff...
    DarkVincent07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    22
    Posts
    17,291
    Rep Power
    106
    Points
    47,126 (0 Banked)
    Items LuluHIMLinkin ParkPlayStationFinal Fantasy XIII-2Final Fantasy XIIIDeath Note LFinal FantasyDark Souls Cover
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    It's got to be chipped/modded.

    My dad got mine "chipped" when I was little, I'm still not sure what it entails. I can play burned games but will I be able to play games from overseas? I might import one to try it...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Lethal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    PSN ID
    Lethal_NFS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    11,275
    Rep Power
    140
    Points
    75,543 (0 Banked)
    Items Michelle MarshAngelina JolieScarlett JohanssonOlivia WildeLucy Pinder
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkVincent07 View Post
    It's got to be chipped/modded.

    My dad got mine "chipped" when I was little, I'm still not sure what it entails. I can play burned games but will I be able to play games from overseas? I might import one to try it...
    It is a tiny chip that gets soldered to the motherboard. I soldered mine on myself back in 1997.


  6. #6
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Sorry cant help you much with that issue, havent used a ps1 since ages.
    Its ok friend dont worry.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lethal_NFS View Post
    Are you sure it is not modded? I added a mod chip to my PS1 back in the day, and it would not run backups without that chip.
    Yeah, because when I bought it from my friend he said its not modded. But Iam being to play PS1 US burned games but not the original import. I do have few legit Japanese PS1 games and it is not playing them as the red sign appears but with any PS1 US burned games I can play. I also have the game enhance the Golden Finger that plugs in the back of the PS1 which will allow to play copies or imports. Still I can't play my original Japanese but copy its ok. Its driving me crazy as I want to play my Japanese burned copy of Policenauts in English which I can't.
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkVincent07 View Post
    It's got to be chipped/modded.

    My dad got mine "chipped" when I was little, I'm still not sure what it entails. I can play burned games but will I be able to play games from overseas? I might import one to try it...
    But how come Iam not being able to play Imports and only burned copies of US games? If its modded it should be able to play any copies or import. With this PS1 I can play only burned US PS1 games and not imports. What do you think is that? Its driving me crazy.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  7. #7
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    If anyone sell PS1 mod chip I will buy just to get it done looooool.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  8. #8
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Finally I found out what is the problem. I opened my PS1 and saw that it has a mod chip installed but 2 wires were cut from the small chip.
    Last edited by Syphon_Filter; 01-21-2014 at 09:42.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  9. #9
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Finally I found it what is the problem. I opened my PS1 and saw that it has a mod chop installed but 2 wires were cut from the small chip.
    Glad you could figure it out by yourself.

  10. #10
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Glad you could figure it out by yourself.
    I had no choice friend only to open my PS1 and see what is happening. Than I saw the mod chip inside with 2 wires are cut.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  11. #11
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    I had no choice friend only to open my PS1 and see what is happening. Than I saw the mod chip inside with 2 wires are cut.
    Well done, good that you noticed the two wires being cut. I hope everything works good now.

  12. #12
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    Well done, good that you noticed the two wires being cut. I hope everything works good now.
    Thanks but my chip is MM3 modchip and it needs to be reprogrammed but I will find something else.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  13. #13
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,354
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,572 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I got my PS1 done about 15 years ago at Bowlers no idea which type it is , I have not opened it up since before it was done. Must go check sometime.
    http://www.bowlersexhibitioncentre.co.uk/
    Last edited by keefy; 01-21-2014 at 23:53.

  14. #14
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Its fun to do it.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  15. #15
    Ultimate Veteran
    Lefein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    22,962
    Rep Power
    192
    Points
    105,212 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Your PS1 is chipped or modded if it plays burned disc games. No ifs ands or buts. There were some games that had further protections on them than just the region lock and you had to use another device to play them like a CodeBreaker.

  16. #16
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,354
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,572 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    My PS1 has a PIC 12C508A installed but no idea what is on it. It was done around 1999 so after googling its most likely some variant of the "old crow"

    I am sill unsure if modchips are legal or not.
    2004 they were deemed illegal but 4 years later they were deemed legal but a year after that a seller selling and installing them was jailed for copyright infringements.

    ARGHH UK and its messed up laws.
    Last edited by keefy; 01-23-2014 at 15:22.

  17. #17
    Dedicated Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,316
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    6,200 (0 Banked)
    Items User name styleinFamousPSN LogoBattlefield 3NvidiaSteamPS3 SlimVita
Gift received at 01-31-2013 from Metal King SlimeColeBattlefield 3
    Quote Originally Posted by Lefein View Post
    Your PS1 is chipped or modded if it plays burned disc games. No ifs ands or buts. There were some games that had further protections on them than just the region lock and you had to use another device to play them like a CodeBreaker.
    There is a chip in it and its PIC 12C508A which is modded. But what is confusing me, is that I can play any PS1 US games burned and some Japanese burned games as well. I was playing Policenauts after I patched it with an English patch and even parasite eve 2 but I couldn't play winning eleven 4 even though its Japanese. I don't no what is going on lol.

    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    My PS1 has a PIC 12C508A installed but no idea what is on it. It was done around 1999 so after googling its most likely some variant of the "old crow"

    I am sill unsure if modchips are legal or not.
    2004 they were deemed illegal but 4 years later they were deemed legal but a year after that a seller selling and installing them was jailed for copyright infringements.

    ARGHH UK and its messed up laws.
    Same here friend I do have that chip installed in my PS1 PIC 12C508A. But I think I was reading some of them came programmed and some no. I think mine isn't programmed to play games that have region lock code such as winning eleven 4.


    CPU: I7 3820--GPU: Asus Gtx 670 2GB--Motherboard: BioStar TpowerX79--HDD: Seagate 2TB--CPU COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80--Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf--RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Corsair--Sony Dvd X18 Player: Power Supply: Seasonic 760W--Windows 7 64Bit, Monitor: HP Led 2311X--TV: Samsung LED TV 120HZ Un40d6000--PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD--PS3 Slim 750GB--PS VITA 32GB.

  18. #18
    Power Member
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,354
    Rep Power
    124
    Points
    55,572 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I don't think mine allows for NTSC to work at proper speeds. I have a NES emulator and SMB3 is on it but it runs slower than it should do because it is NTSC but my PS1 is PAL and as we all know NTSC is 60Hz and PAL is 50Hz.
    But any CDs I have copied do work no problem same with ones I downloaded from the interwebs that are in PAL format.

    P.S
    the ones I downloaded I do own or at east did at one point until lending them out to some Cnut that didn't give the games back.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.