Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Elite Guru
    EHY893's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    5,542
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    26,088 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogMetal Gear SolidPlayStation

    Looking to get an Asus monitor (first time Asus buyer)

    My PC monitor has just decided to call it a day about 30 minutes ago. I was using a Dell ST2310, and the screen went dull on me, I think it may be something to do with the backlight.

    However, I'm now looking to get a "decent" monitor and I've been looking at Asus monitors for a while. I'll need a 23 inch monitor with 1ms response time. Price doesn't matter but I obviously will want the best value for money. So I want opinions on what is a reliable Asus monitor.

    Hopefully going to buy this within the next day or two.

    This is an example of one I have been considering. http://www.amazon.co.uk/VN247H-23-6-...sus+monitor+23

  2. #2
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,579
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,538 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You got an Nvidia card? You might want to get one with that Gsync technology.

  3. Likes EHY893 likes this post
  4. #3
    Elite Guru
    EHY893's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    5,542
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    26,088 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogMetal Gear SolidPlayStation
    I do, any suggestions on which monitor you think I should go for?

  5. #4
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,688
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,680 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    As Keefy said, assuming you have a card later than the 6XX series it might be worth buying a monitor with G-Sync though they are currently a bit pricey

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/3xs-m...1ms-vesa-dport

    I have a ASUS VG236HE at the moment and it hasn't given me a single problem since I've had it. My next monitor will be an Asus one as well.

  6. Likes EHY893 likes this post
  7. #5
    Elite Guru
    EHY893's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    5,542
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    26,088 (0 Banked)
    Items Naughty DogMetal Gear SolidPlayStation
    I'm either going to go for the one you linked or the same one that doesn't have the G-Sync, most likely get the one with the modification though. Thanks for the help.

  8. #6
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,579
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    58,538 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by emmerich View Post
    I'm either going to go for the one you linked or the same one that doesn't have the G-Sync, most likely get the one with the modification though. Thanks for the help.
    If you do get the Gsync one let us know how well it works.

  9. #7
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,330
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,140 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    IF that G-Sync works as well as they say it does then it'll be a hard decision to save up for a 4k or go for a G-Sync IPS display (eventually).

  10. #8
    Veteran

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    PSN ID
    Cybertox
    Posts
    4,129
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    95,216 (4,000 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    IF that G-Sync works as well as they say it does then it'll be a hard decision to save up for a 4k or go for a G-Sync IPS display (eventually).
    If you want to start saving up for a 4k monitor then you should also consider saving up for a 800$ GPU.

  11. #9
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,688
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,680 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    IF that G-Sync works as well as they say it does then it'll be a hard decision to save up for a 4k or go for a G-Sync IPS display (eventually).
    I was sceptical at first but the more I read about it the more exciting it sounds. A lot of big wigs in the industry seem to think it is a major advancement. I had a good article about it recently, I'll try and find it again and edit it in.

  12. #10
    Friendship is Carrots
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    21
    Posts
    15,596
    Rep Power
    132
    Points
    78,403 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Does this G-Sync technology work will all games and applications? I'm assuming it probably works with most, but I'm curious.
    Add me on Steam!


    [Forum Rules]
    - [PSN] - [Programmers' Corner]

  13. #11
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,688
    Rep Power
    87
    Points
    37,680 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Looking to get an Asus monitor (first time Asus buyer)

    Yup. Works with everything I believe. It's just the monitor syncing up exactly with the GPU

    A very good article on G-Sync. Highly recommend reading it.

    www.blurbusters.com/gsync/preview/
    Last edited by BBK..; 01-23-2014 at 09:04.

  14. #12
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,330
    Rep Power
    81
    Points
    18,140 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybertox View Post
    If you want to start saving up for a 4k monitor then you should also consider saving up for a 800$ GPU.
    I am currently running with 3 monitors and 1 TV for 5760x1080 + 1920x1080 on a single GTX680, I think I can handle it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.