Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Superior Member
    ZTMIKE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    843
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    825 (0 Banked)

    Upgrading 12gb super slim harddrive- question

    I'm looking to buy this drive for uploadfromtaptalk1392788680847.jpgmy super slim ps3 (12gb version) off newegg. Its the Toshiba MQ01ABD100H, I've attached a screenshot as there seems to be 2 different versions but the one pictured is the one I want..just wanting to know if it'll fit/work in my super slim, thanks

    Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk


  2. #2
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,133
    Rep Power
    246
    Points
    149,395 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Yes.




  3. #3
    Superior Member
    ZTMIKE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    843
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    825 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Yes.
    Thanks I'll put the order in later today.

    Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk


  4. #4
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,133
    Rep Power
    246
    Points
    149,395 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    You're welcome.




  5. #5
    Superior Member
    ZTMIKE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    843
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    825 (0 Banked)
    Ordered it. But was wondering whenever I get the chance to buy a ps4 ..will it fit/work in that?

    Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk


  6. #6
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,133
    Rep Power
    246
    Points
    149,395 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by ZTMIKE View Post
    Ordered it. But was wondering whenever I get the chance to buy a ps4 ..will it fit/work in that?

    Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk
    I would just say "yes", and be done; however - https://support.us.playstation.com/a...pgrade-ps4-hdd

    Go over that page.




  7. #7
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    39
    Posts
    20,897
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    30,128 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Make sure you have the newest firmware on a thumb stick drive when you swap the drive.if u don't have the fw it won't work.

  8. #8
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,082
    Rep Power
    21
    Points
    424,879 (0 Banked)
    Someone got this earlier.
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    It probably the 12GB version.

    Sleeping very soundly on a Saturday morning I was dreaming
    I was Al Capone
    There's a rumour going round, gotta clear outta town
    I'm smelling like a dry fish bone
    Here come the Law, gonna break down the door, gonna carry me
    away once more
    Never, never, never get it any more
    Gotta get away from this stone cold floor
    Crazy
    Stone cold crazy, you know

  9. #9
    Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2014
    PSN ID
    fatman300-mcfc
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    221 (0 Banked)
    Hi im new to the ps3 world before i go into details can hacking and custom firmware be discussed on here, thanks

  10. #10
    Dedicated Member
    John Willaford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Owings Mills, MD
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,082
    Rep Power
    21
    Points
    424,879 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by fatman300lb View Post
    Hi im new to the ps3 world before i go into details can hacking and custom firmware be discussed on here, thanks
    I'd avoid it. Some of us are technically inclined and some of them are technically stupid but don't know how to admit they open their mouth only after others have done so and want to sound smart....

    I haven't really seen any hacking firmware discussions, it's up to admin/mod to decide.
    We mostly argue endlessly about why the XBO is or isn't catching up to the PS4 in the minds of people where transistors don't matter and ESRAM comes from the loins of magical 'worlds smartest programmer' speed fairies which will make life all better for some who just can't enjoy what they have and stop trying to prove points nobody want's to hear again.
    Sleeping very soundly on a Saturday morning I was dreaming
    I was Al Capone
    There's a rumour going round, gotta clear outta town
    I'm smelling like a dry fish bone
    Here come the Law, gonna break down the door, gonna carry me
    away once more
    Never, never, never get it any more
    Gotta get away from this stone cold floor
    Crazy
    Stone cold crazy, you know

  11. #11
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,939
    Rep Power
    59
    Points
    2,884 (0 Banked)
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Rememeber you will need the PS3 Slim HDD dock unless they now come with one I installed a old 60gb hdd in a 12gb slim last month as a temp till the owner got a larger 500GB and I found out it needed a dock in the end I used a small piece of cardboard to fold at the end to balance it out for it to work.


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, WD 1TB Blue 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  12. #12
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    39
    Posts
    20,897
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    30,128 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Its crazy how u did not need the fw to format the drive like we had to do with the frist gen slim.

  13. #13
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    192 (0 Banked)
    Yep it works and yes you would need to upgrade to OFW.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.