Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Newbie
    colinreidcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    268 (0 Banked)

    Wireless Signal Strength Low

    I have recently noticed that when I'm using the PS4 upstairs the signal strength drops down to 60%. What would you recommend for me to buy that would bring the signal strength close enough to 100%?

    Thanks PSU!

  2. #2
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2013
    PSN ID
    crazy_gooner
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    12
    Points
    3,001 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by colinreidcr View Post
    I have recently noticed that when I'm using the PS4 upstairs the signal strength drops down to 60%. What would you recommend for me to buy that would bring the signal strength close enough to 100%?

    Thanks PSU!
    Best option would be if you cannot move your modem, purchase Ethernet power line adapter's. Myself and many would swear by them.. They worked wonders in the past. It's like a wired connection.



    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Newbie
    colinreidcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    268 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by crazy_gooner View Post
    Best option would be if you cannot move your modem, purchase Ethernet power line adapter's. Myself and many would swear by them.. They worked wonders in the past. It's like a wired connection.



    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
    Thanks for the feedback! I shall look into this and will update this thread.

  4. #4
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    997
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    5,873 (0 Banked)
    You have a few options.

    The power line adapters are probably your less expensive and obtrusive option.

    Then you could buy an AC wifi router and an AC wifi adapter, though that's the more expensive option, but I can attest to it giving a really good connection, almost as fast as wired, though that might be due to the internet at that localization is a little bit faster than what the AC signal can achieve, but still faster than my wired connection (fiber optic).

    You could also set up a bridge somewhere in between. That can be moderately expensive since you'll have to by another router, I think any router would do but it require a special kind.

    The most work however would be to run a wire through the walls, obviously that can be a lot of work, and difficult without the right tools and/or experience.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

  5. #5
    Newbie
    colinreidcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    268 (0 Banked)
    I think the power line adapters would be my best bet since my parents don't want anymore holes in the walls etc.

  6. #6
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,122
    Rep Power
    244
    Points
    147,835 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Range extender.




  7. #7
    Newbie
    colinreidcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    268 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by F34R View Post
    Range extender.
    Went ahead and bought this from Amazon. Hopefully these should do the trick:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  8. #8
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,122
    Rep Power
    244
    Points
    147,835 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by colinreidcr View Post
    Went ahead and bought this from Amazon. Hopefully these should do the trick:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    It should do just fine.




  9. #9
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    May 2013
    PSN ID
    crazy_gooner
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    12
    Points
    3,001 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by colinreidcr View Post
    Went ahead and bought this from Amazon. Hopefully these should do the trick:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    They're great. I had TP link ones.

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Ultimate Veteran
    coolguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    long island ny
    Age
    39
    Posts
    20,896
    Rep Power
    112
    Points
    29,525 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    buy a 100 foot Ethernet cable and run it to the modem they are cheap

  11. #11
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,936
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,461 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by coolguy View Post
    buy a 100 foot Ethernet cable and run it to the modem they are cheap
    Cheaper than the homeplugs certainly. I bought 20 Metres a while back for less than 10.

  12. #12
    Newbie
    colinreidcr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    268 (0 Banked)
    Update: Just installed the power line adapters and my mouth just dropped due to the blazing fast speeds. Don't know why I haven't done this already!

  13. #13
    Legend
    F34R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    PSN ID
    F34RTEHR34PER
    Posts
    40,122
    Rep Power
    244
    Points
    147,835 (0 Banked)
    Items BullySteamGran Turismo 5LiverpoolAppleJoker (limited ICON)Naughty DogMaster ChiefAssassins Creed EzioGears of WarHeavy RainDiablo III
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by colinreidcr View Post
    Update: Just installed the power line adapters and my mouth just dropped due to the blazing fast speeds. Don't know why I haven't done this already!
    Sounds good, and it always feels good to have something resolved.




  14. #14
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    997
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    5,873 (0 Banked)
    A bit of a necro bump, but I wanted to put this here. I recently got a new AC1900 router (the Nighthawk) and an AC adapter (WD My Net) and now my wifi seems to be damn near the speed and quality of my connection when wired, previously results when on Wifi-N, is now excellent on Wifi-AC.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparc View Post
    For goodness sake I hope nobody thinks to start labelling the console an Xbrick,
    oops
    -Regarding the Xbone A.K.A. the Xbrick

    "Faith - that's another word for ignorance isn't it?" -House

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.