Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,687
    Rep Power
    80

    Can I use this fan controller for my 200mm fan 12 voltage?

    I have 3 fans that are 200mm 12 Voltage and 2 fans are 120mm Voltage 12. It says in the Specifications of AeroCool Strike X Maximum power per fan channel allowed is 8 Watts([email protected]). Is it ok to get for my 200MM fans or no? Thanks for any help


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  2. #2
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    PSN ID
    keefy
    Posts
    18,807
    Rep Power
    148
    Assuming this is for a computer?

    Yes it will be fine.

  3. #3
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,687
    Rep Power
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Assuming this is for a computer?

    Yes it will be fine.
    Yes its for my PC. I just want to make sure that my 200mm fans will work by using this fan controller as they use 12 voltage and I was confused about it as it says 6 voltage per channel for 1 fan.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  4. #4
    Forum Sage
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    35
    Posts
    7,799
    Rep Power
    115
    The controller is essentially a voltage regulator. So to confirm what keefy said, it will work. What will happen is that the fans will never run at full "12v" speed.


    On the move with Tapatalk

    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

  5. #5
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,687
    Rep Power
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by MjW View Post
    The controller is essentially a voltage regulator. So to confirm what keefy said, it will work. What will happen is that the fans will never run at full "12v" speed.


    On the move with Tapatalk
    Oh ok thank you.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

  6. #6
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    PSN ID
    keefy
    Posts
    18,807
    Rep Power
    148
    Is this the device?
    http://www.aerocool.us/peripheral/strike_x_panel.htm


    Like you said in your OP it is 6 watts per channel, a 200mm fan might use at full speed 3-4Watts

    You can find out the wattage your fan will use by using the equation
    Voltage x Amp
    the amp rating will be in the specs of the fan or even on the fan itself.
    Last edited by keefy; 03-05-2014 at 12:04.

  7. #7
    Elite Member
    Syphon_Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada, Toronto
    PSN ID
    Syphon_Filter
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,687
    Rep Power
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Is this the device?
    http://www.aerocool.us/peripheral/strike_x_panel.htm


    Like you said in your OP it is 6 watts per channel, a 200mm fan might use at full speed 3-4Watts

    You can find out the wattage your fan will use by using the equation
    Voltage x Amp
    the amp rating will be in the specs of the fan or even on the fan itself.
    Ok thank you. I did buy it so its coming.


    CPU I7 3820 GPU Asus GTX 980 4GB Motherboard BioStar TpowerX79 HDD Seagate 3TB CPU Samsung SSD 850 EVO 512GB COOLING: Corsair Hydro H80 Case: CoolerMaster RC932 Haf RAM: 16GB 1333 DDR3 Power Supply Seasonic 760W Windows 7 64Bit Monitor BENQ XL2730Z 2560X1440 Samsung 3D LED TV 240HZ 55H7150 PS3 Super Slim 1TB HDD PS VITA 32GB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts