Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!

    Screw BF4, DICE and EA

    Had Battlefield 4 a little over 48 hours and cannot play the campaign or online longer than 10 minutes without it crashing to desktop with some funky Direct X error. I can however play the "test range" for as long as I want without any problems what so ever but that is so dull and boring.
    I knew I should have stuck to my guns and not bought this piece of unworthy, buggy code. Still at least I only paid 15 for it so the damage is minimal.


    It is not the first time a DICE game has had major issue, Bad Company 2 was the same and so was BF3 after it but the thing is each time I have had a different computer.

    Bad company 2
    Intel dual core E8400
    4GB RAM
    Nvidia 8800GT

    BF3
    Intel dual core E8400 / AMD Phenom 2 955
    4GB RAM / 8GB
    AMD 5770 / 6870

    BF4
    Intel i5 4670
    8GB RAM
    6870

    So three different setups on three different games made by the same team.


    Also I really want EA would stop spamming me with popups of $#@!ty games I do not want to buy every time I load up Origin and also stop the "this is how to play BF4" popup when I login to the batlog.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/a60qocqfby...2014.59.37.png
    Last edited by keefy; 03-05-2014 at 14:59.

  2. #2
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,757
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,197 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Man that sucks. I'm not going to bother insulting your intelligence about drivers and such.

    My friend with an AMD card has had a horrible time that he doesn't even bother trying to play it anymore. It always crashes with him. I've had maybe less than 4 or 5 crashes since playing.

    Can you verify game cache integrity with Origin like you can with Steam? Maybe a few files are missing?

    I do hate that pop up though. I DONT GIVE TWO $#@!S ABOUT SIMS!! Is what usually goes through my head

  3. #3
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Weird. I just had a go and could play the campaign without crashing once for close to an hour.
    I have changed nothing in my system.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    LesTom1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    62
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    799 (0 Banked)
    A completely broken game, unforgivable IMO

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Started to crash again, could play all day today but the evening not a chance.

  6. #6
    Superior Member
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    21
    Posts
    586
    Rep Power
    8
    Points
    7,372 (0 Banked)
    I know your pain mate.
    I had it pre-ordered, beta was working but laggy, then when it got released it was continuous error here and there and then for a brief moment I was able to play daily with no errors... Wanted to play a game 3 days ago and I tried twice, game gave me a bull$#@! directx error which is just the $#@!ing game being $#@!. And they $#@!ed up 4 awesome maps (new dlc).

    BF4, fun as long as it lasted.
    South Park Stick of Truth + Titanfall, here I come.

  7. #7
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I have uninstalled it, there was an update today but it made no difference.

    The sound positioning is still garbage.
    I could hear a helicopter and it sounded like it was above me and behind me slightly, looked up and nothing, left, right, all over the skyline in my vicinity and still nothing, gave up then up it pops from below the roof line I was on, luckily it was a friendly.
    Also still cant hear enemy footsteps very well, sometimes its clear as a bell others they are silent. Also the sound completely cuts out from time to time but I think gamers these days use RADAR more than sound to pinpoint where enemies are.

    Why does this popup every time I login to batlog?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/1l430o43ck...2017.13.38.png

    Why are they charging for maps that were in the previous game? all they need to do is a few tweaks here and there then its ready, unlike back to karkand in BF3 which probably had to be rebuilt since it was a much older map from a much older game.
    Last edited by keefy; 03-06-2014 at 17:17.

  8. #8
    Apprentice
    MLG221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    193
    Rep Power
    9
    Points
    608 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Had Battlefield 4 a little over 48 hours and cannot play the campaign or online longer than 10 minutes without it crashing to desktop with some funky Direct X error. I can however play the "test range" for as long as I want without any problems what so ever but that is so dull and boring.
    I knew I should have stuck to my guns and not bought this piece of unworthy, buggy code. Still at least I only paid 15 for it so the damage is minimal.


    It is not the first time a DICE game has had major issue, Bad Company 2 was the same and so was BF3 after it but the thing is each time I have had a different computer.

    Bad company 2
    Intel dual core E8400
    4GB RAM
    Nvidia 8800GT

    BF3
    Intel dual core E8400 / AMD Phenom 2 955
    4GB RAM / 8GB
    AMD 5770 / 6870

    BF4
    Intel i5 4670
    8GB RAM
    6870

    So three different setups on three different games made by the same team.


    Also I really want EA would stop spamming me with popups of $#@!ty games I do not want to buy every time I load up Origin and also stop the "this is how to play BF4" popup when I login to the batlog.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/a60qocqfby...2014.59.37.png


    Did you build the computer your self? If you got a custom pc built for you take it back to them and tell them. If they cant fix it then your out of options. Sometimes tweaking the pc will do the trick im not saying your stupid or anything but there are pros.

  9. #9
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    ITs not the computer its the game.
    You don't adjust hardware to software, you code software to hardware.

    My guess is there is something inherently wrong with the Frostbite engine that gets passed from game to game and they have t patch out each and every time.
    Last edited by keefy; 03-07-2014 at 00:29.

  10. #10
    Apprentice
    MLG221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    193
    Rep Power
    9
    Points
    608 (0 Banked)
    The computer shop I go to had BF4 installed and it worked fine on MP, that was a month ago how long has this problem been?

  11. #11
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    since the 3rd of March which is when I bought the game. Around 95% of the games I played resulted in a crash

  12. #12
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,757
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,197 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    After the patch yesterday I had a fairly successful evening


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

  13. #13
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    After the patch yesterday I had a fairly successful evening


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.
    Are you taking the piss?

  14. #14
    Forum Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    9,757
    Rep Power
    88
    Points
    39,197 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Ha sorry man. It's a big old game but perhaps you can download and try again?


    BBK.. Tapa. Talked.

  15. #15
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Just reinstalled it and left it as Russian language and tried to play, but again 10 minutes in a server it crashed.
    Just going to have to give up trying, nothing I can do.

  16. #16
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    PSN ID
    Jamesinth
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    467 (0 Banked)
    That sucks man. I hope your problems get sorted out.

  17. #17
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    To add insult to injury they banned me form the batlog thing. I have literally done nothing wrong to warrant this ban, plus they do not message or email you you have been banned as to why.

    Last edited by keefy; 03-22-2014 at 09:15.

  18. #18
    Forum Overseer
    Omar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    30,459
    Rep Power
    190
    Points
    107,077 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    lovely.

  19. #19
    PSU Live Streamer
    YoungMullah88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte
    PSN ID
    xShadow__WoIf | YoungMullah88
    Posts
    14,269
    Rep Power
    112
    Points
    31,835 (1,800 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Probably your emblem

    Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

  20. #20
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by YoungMullah88 View Post
    Probably your emblem

    Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
    Unlikely
    https://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/user/k33fy/
    Last edited by keefy; 03-22-2014 at 21:27.

  21. #21
    Forum Elder
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,931
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    2,745 (0 Banked)
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Its one thing after another isnt it with BF4 has to go down in history as one of the worst games in the BF series


    Win 7 Ult 64bit, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1/Bios F8 , INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz, Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB DDR3 1866mhz (1600mhz@1.60v), Crucial 128GB M4 SSD, Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up HDD), HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card, OCZ Fatality 750 Mod PSU, LG DVD-RAM RW

  22. #22
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,679
    Rep Power
    126
    Points
    60,175 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Well since the DLC released and they also released a patch I can ow play the game longer than 10 minutes without a crash.
    I hope we don't have to wait until he next DLC for fixes because whilst the game works without crashing every map or round I play, it still does crash maybe 1 out of 3 games I play, which is still unacceptable.
    Last edited by keefy; 04-26-2014 at 19:03.

  23. #23
    Apprentice
    Bodie_CI5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PSN ID
    Bodie_CI5
    Age
    39
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    123 (0 Banked)
    Items ApplePS3 Slim
    Did you ever post on the BF forums? The customer service is nothing to write home about, but some of the users may be able to help you, especially if there's someone who had the same issues as you.

    It does suck though.

    I'm unable to play it at the moment - had to shift Origin and its games to a different game. But now it can't find them. My brother sent me a link, seemed like a pretty involved process to re-set it all up. I'll leave it for him to deal with when he comes over again. WoW/D3 and Steam stuff when shifting folders over to the new drive was an absolute breeze.
    <a href=http://s102.photobucket.com/user/Bodie_CI5/media/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif.html target=_blank><img src=http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m81/Bodie_CI5/TheDivision_Forum_CommunitySig1_600x100-1.gif border=0 alt= /></a>

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.