Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,717
    Rep Power
    53
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation

    Windows 8 won't load certain site

    My laptop with Windows 8 will not load this site:
    www.liveperson.com

    The other laptops with windows 7 can load it just fine.

    What is going on here?

    Currently Playing: Bravely Default for the Nintendo 3DS

  2. #2
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    130
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    It could be your computer because as I type this I am using windows 8 and hve no problems accessing that site.

    Try again it might have been a glitch, they happen.

    If sill doesnt work Could be a DNS server problem.

    try google's DNS, the link tells you how to change.

    https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/
    Last edited by keefy; 03-30-2014 at 02:07.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    21,999
    Rep Power
    132
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Are you using Internet Explorer? Try Chrome.
    Probably a html 5 issue.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  4. #4
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,717
    Rep Power
    53
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation
    I am using chrome. I think there's something wrong with my internet connection.

    Currently Playing: Bravely Default for the Nintendo 3DS

  5. #5
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Age
    21
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    Try using HotSpot Shield.
    "They're messing with the wrong people."


  6. #6
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    Age
    44
    Posts
    8,974
    Rep Power
    117
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by The Black Wolf View Post
    I am using chrome. I think there's something wrong with my internet connection.
    Try keefy's suggestion. That is what I would do as well.








  7. #7
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,717
    Rep Power
    53
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation
    I tried keefy's suggestion: nothing.

    I also got assistance from a HP specialist and he got it to where chrome can load the homepage. That's it. I can't sign in or anything.


    Currently Playing: Bravely Default for the Nintendo 3DS

  8. #8
    Master Guru
    ttech10's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,881
    Rep Power
    93
    I'm on 8.1 and no issue loading it. Is it just Chrome that it won't sign in/access the site, or others as well?

    The only issues I've had related to Windows 8 and websites is that I'll occasionally have to use a DNS, which was already ruled out there (though, I do use Open DNS settings instead of Google).

  9. #9
    Ultimate Veteran
    mickice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia, In a Kangaroo's pouch.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    21,999
    Rep Power
    132
    Items PlayStationPS3 Slim
    Quote Originally Posted by ttech10 View Post
    I'm on 8.1 and no issue loading it. Is it just Chrome that it won't sign in/access the site, or others as well?

    The only issues I've had related to Windows 8 and websites is that I'll occasionally have to use a DNS, which was already ruled out there (though, I do use Open DNS settings instead of Google).
    This sounds awefully stupid, lol. *Hugs Windows 7* Don't ever leave me baby.
    I'd suggest Wolf has not done it correctly.

    - Symmetrical thumb sticks for life -

  10. #10
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,717
    Rep Power
    53
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation
    Nope, firefox and Internet Explorer can't access it either.

    I clicked on keefy's link and followed the directions to a T.

    I'll just have to contact HP again.

    Currently Playing: Bravely Default for the Nintendo 3DS

  11. #11
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,878
    Rep Power
    130
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Yu have some weird problems with computers, what do you do with it?

    Only other thing I could think it would be affecting 1 single site accross multiple browsers is the "hosts file." Maybe somehow the website has been added to it and is blocked
    Last edited by keefy; 04-02-2014 at 01:43.

  12. #12
    Veteran
    The Black Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    MS, USA
    Posts
    4,717
    Rep Power
    53
    Items PS3 SlimVita3DSPlayStation
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Yu have some weird problems with computers, what do you do with it?

    Only other thing I could think it would be affecting 1 single site accross multiple browsers is the "hosts file." Maybe somehow the website has been added to it and is blocked
    Well, all I do is:

    watch youtube
    visit sports sites
    visit news sites
    visit short novel sites
    type short novels
    do college work

    and other small things. I have no idea what's causing it. This is the only computer I have ever had with this problem.

    Thank you guys for helping me. Thank you.

    Currently Playing: Bravely Default for the Nintendo 3DS

  13. #13
    Master Guru
    ttech10's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,881
    Rep Power
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by mickice View Post
    This sounds awefully stupid, lol. *Hugs Windows 7* Don't ever leave me baby.
    I'd suggest Wolf has not done it correctly.
    There's something strangely attractive about W8 to me. I guess as much as I hate it, I love it. Even if every time I restart my computer (which is rare, usually just sleeps, since the third install finally got that to work correctly) I have to cross my fingers in hopes everything boots fine.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.