Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    PSN ID
    wzrdfromoz
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    DS4 (PS Button) Start Up Issue

    I'm having connectivity and power up issues with my controller. I can start the unit up with the controller plugged in via. USB, remove the cable and play on. However, I cannot connect or power up using the PS button. When trying to start the system without USB connectivity I get nothing but flashing 'white lights.' After doing some research I think my controller isn't paired correctly. I have only the one controller, however the original was replaced. When I play a game my colour is 'red'. I'm led to believe that this is telling me my controller is the 2nd pairing?

    Can I reset and designate my controller?

    I have tried to reset the controller via. reset button, though this only disconnects the controller and nothing more. When disconnected, to start the system up again I have to connect via. USB as mentioned earlier. Any assistance would be great.

  2. #2
    Apprentice
    Smokin Joker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    PSN ID
    SmoknJokr
    Age
    45
    Posts
    415
    Rep Power
    53
    Plug it in to the USB and use the PS button on the controller to turn on the ps4. Also go into settings and delete any extra controllers. Idk if that helps but might.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Spyrde for the sig/avy


  3. #3
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    PSN ID
    wzrdfromoz
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    I should clarify.

    With controller connected to system via. USB, no problem. I can push PS Button, system starts and controller is fully operational either connected or unconnected.

    When the controller is not connected via. USB and I try to initiate start up with the PS Button its does nothing.

  4. #4
    Superior Member
    P51-SN95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    764
    Rep Power
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by ncbradley View Post
    I should clarify.

    With controller connected to system via. USB, no problem. I can push PS Button, system starts and controller is fully operational either connected or unconnected.

    When the controller is not connected via. USB and I try to initiate start up with the PS Button its does nothing.
    when wireless can you go in to the Edit devices (or adjust devices??) and change the controller to user 1? perhaps it's somehow set so your profile is user 2 and user 1 is a guest account??

  5. #5
    Apprentice
    Smokin Joker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    PSN ID
    SmoknJokr
    Age
    45
    Posts
    415
    Rep Power
    53
    Customer support?

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Spyrde for the sig/avy


  6. #6
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    PSN ID
    wzrdfromoz
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by P51-SN95 View Post
    when wireless can you go in to the Edit devices (or adjust devices??) and change the controller to user 1? perhaps it's somehow set so your profile is user 2 and user 1 is a guest account??
    I don't think you can

    Quote Originally Posted by Smokin Joker View Post
    Customer support?

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

    Already done, awaiting their reply.

  7. #7
    Veteran
    faaeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .....pss..behind you
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,248
    Rep Power
    79
    Do u by chance have one of those ps4 usb hubs plugged in or a media remote for bluray? This caused this exact issue for me on my PS3. Controller would power on the unit but not pair on start up. When I did get it to sync it would be as controller 2 not 1. I dont have either of these for my ps4 "yet".

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    Last edited by faaeng; 05-01-2014 at 18:47.
    PCs are very much like Air Conditioners.
    They both become utterly useless once you start to open up Windows....
    ----------------------------------------------


  8. #8
    Forum Sage
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,603
    Rep Power
    102
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Isn't there a reset button?


    On the move with Tapatalk

    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

  9. #9
    Veteran
    faaeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .....pss..behind you
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,248
    Rep Power
    79
    He said in the OP that that didnt help.

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    PCs are very much like Air Conditioners.
    They both become utterly useless once you start to open up Windows....
    ----------------------------------------------


  10. #10
    Forum Sage
    MjW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    MjW-
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,603
    Rep Power
    102
    Items VitaiPhone BlackGran Turismo 5PS3 FatTommy Vercetti3DS
    Quote Originally Posted by faaeng View Post
    He said in the OP that that didnt help.

    Sent from my One using Tapatalk
    Missed that. Carry on.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    ~Corporate Media Propaganda - Welcome to your Daily Matrix~

  11. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    PSN ID
    wzrdfromoz
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0
    So, as a result the controller has been replaced and all is well. Thanks to those who tried to help!

    So far I've had 2 systems and 3 controllers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.