Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 63
  1. #26
    Master Sage
    HellsJester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alone in the Cold
    Posts
    13,491
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    39,676 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Ohh dam! The 900 will be out too? I thought we will get only the 800 series. You confused me man lol. When 900 will be out? I don't want to wait for next year though.
    If you dont want to wait thats fine. When 800 series benchmarks are out i suggest going to this site to compare to see how much of a upgrade you are getting.
    http://www.hwcompare.com/category/gpu-comparisons/





  2. #27
    Super Elite
    rycexboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    2,254
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    20 (2,924 Banked)
    Nice, just in time for my new build. been using 560Ti on a 5+ year old computer.

  3. #28
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,509
    Rep Power
    40
    Points
    20,127 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by HellsJester View Post
    If you dont want to wait thats fine. When 800 series benchmarks are out i suggest going to this site to compare to see how much of a upgrade you are getting.
    http://www.hwcompare.com/category/gpu-comparisons/
    I rather suspect that once the benchmarks are out you'll find only about a 15% or so improvement over the current 770 and 780s in most games, with a few of the more demanding games showing even less improvement. It's not a significant change from the 700 series in either clock or features, much like the 700 series wasn't a significant change over the 600.


    As for myself, I'm not at all interested in it. I've got a pair of 4GB GTX 770s running in SLI, I won't be upgrading again until DirectX12 parts start coming out.

  4. #29
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,824
    Rep Power
    86
    Points
    10,258 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Syphon_Filter View Post
    Ohh dam! The 900 will be out too? I thought we will get only the 800 series. You confused me man lol. When 900 will be out? I don't want to wait for next year though.
    Yes, 900 series will be out ~+year after 800 series is released.. just like jump from 600 series to 700.. (It also shouldn't add any new features.. really dislike the naming scheme currently.)
    Last edited by jlippone; 08-21-2014 at 10:15.
    -------
    Couple of nice blog posts about OpenGL.
    The Truth on OpenGL Driver Quality
    Things that drive me nuts about OpenGL

  5. #30
    Forum Sage

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    8,479
    Rep Power
    102
    Points
    2,417 (0 Banked)
    This is really tempting. Since my current build has a pair of Sapphire HD 5870s in Crossfire-X mode and since these cards are going on their fifth year, I think it's time I looked into parts for a new build. A few things holding me back is I'm waiting on DDR4 and associated motherboards to drop and I'm waiting on the next generation CPUs as well. I really want to do a build with a completely new architecture. Besides, all my $#@! is OBSOLETE!!!

  6. #31
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,824
    Rep Power
    86
    Points
    10,258 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by jlippone View Post
    Yes, 900 series will be out ~+year after 800 series is released.. just like jump from 600 series to 700.. (It also shouldn't add any new features.. really dislike the naming scheme currently.)
    .. sigh.

    Nvidia jumped past 8xx series.
    I really, really hate when companies go full retard with their naming schemes.
    So everything I said about 8xx = 9xx.
    Last edited by jlippone; 4 Weeks Ago at 08:20. Reason: Previous writing form was not insulting enough on subject.
    -------
    Couple of nice blog posts about OpenGL.
    The Truth on OpenGL Driver Quality
    Things that drive me nuts about OpenGL

  7. #32
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,954
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,656 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Did they do an AMD where the 8 series was the Mobile versions?

  8. #33
    Master Sage
    HellsJester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alone in the Cold
    Posts
    13,491
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    39,676 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Did they do an AMD where the 8 series was the Mobile versions?
    Yes.

    980 and 970 are out now. 970 is super cheap for the power so i may get one or wait for the new chipset.
    Last edited by HellsJester; 4 Weeks Ago at 08:59.





  9. #34
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,954
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,656 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Wow yes, The 970 seems to be on par with the 780, but slightly less than the 780Ti. However he 970 has more RAM than both the 780 versions.

    Think I might go green, will be first time since 2008ish when the 8800GT came out, man that was a super awesome card for the price.
    Last edited by keefy; 4 Weeks Ago at 10:20.

  10. #35
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    10,078
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    44,207 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I'm enjoying life on the green side. Though I'm stuck with team green for the next few GPUs I purchase.

  11. #36
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,523
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    20,599 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Ever since the 9700GT I've stuck with Team green. Looking at the TDP though I am staggered but I was hoping for a double performance over my GTX680 so I am going to wait and see what the next Titan classed GTK204 card is like unless I SLI two GTX980's, hmm...

  12. #37
    Master Sage
    HellsJester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alone in the Cold
    Posts
    13,491
    Rep Power
    113
    Points
    39,676 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Ever since the 9700GT I've stuck with Team green. Looking at the TDP though I am staggered but I was hoping for a double performance over my GTX680 so I am going to wait and see what the next Titan classed GTK204 card is like unless I SLI two GTX980's, hmm...
    The thought of a Maxwell Titan sounds insane
    Last edited by HellsJester; 4 Weeks Ago at 12:37.





  13. #38
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,509
    Rep Power
    40
    Points
    20,127 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Ever since the 9700GT I've stuck with Team green. Looking at the TDP though I am staggered but I was hoping for a double performance over my GTX680 so I am going to wait and see what the next Titan classed GTK204 card is like unless I SLI two GTX980's, hmm...
    You'll definitely want to either SLI the 980 or wait for a Titan classed card. Better yet, SLI the Titan classed cards.

    But based on the benchmarks I've seen my older GTX 770 SLI setup is still faster than a single 980 by a significant margin.




    22 FPS faster in that example.

    Considering a 4GB 770 SLI setup only costs about $150 more than a single 980, you really do need to SLI the 980s to justify the price.

  14. #39
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,523
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    20,599 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Well I'm needing the performance mainly for development work and a 770 isn't a big enough update from my 680, though a 980 is a staggering difference. I would rather SLI my 680 than upgrade to a SLI 770. A Titan classed card would be more beneficial to me due to the amount of cores and the VRAM.

  15. #40
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    10,078
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    44,207 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    When it was first announced I wanted to upgrade from a 780 but now I've thought about it, it isn't worth it. Maybe another 780 or wait until next years cards. I want a little more VRAM than 3GB

  16. #41
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,954
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,656 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Well I'm needing the performance mainly for development work and a 770 isn't a big enough update from my 680, though a 980 is a staggering difference. I would rather SLI my 680 than upgrade to a SLI 770. A Titan classed card would be more beneficial to me due to the amount of cores and the VRAM.
    Why not get one of the workstation cards?

  17. #42
    Forum Sage

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    8,479
    Rep Power
    102
    Points
    2,417 (0 Banked)
    I'd like to see a Titan Black and Titan Z card on the Maxwell chip-set. The Titan Black can have 8GB VRAM and the Titan Z can have 16GB VRAM.

  18. #43
    Supreme Veteran
    keefy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    The Sock Gap
    Posts
    17,954
    Rep Power
    127
    Points
    63,656 (0 Banked)
    Items Gran Turismo 5Michelle MarshDoomid SoftwareCommodore 64Metal Gear Solid
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    My 8GB of system RAM suddenly seems small.

  19. #44
    Elite Sage
    BBK..'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bristol!!
    Age
    24
    Posts
    10,078
    Rep Power
    89
    Points
    44,207 (15,799 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Would tripple 4K eat up 12GB!?

  20. #45
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,523
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    20,599 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by keefy View Post
    Why not get one of the workstation cards?
    A Titan is classed as a low end Workstation card which is why I'm going to wait for it.

  21. #46
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,509
    Rep Power
    40
    Points
    20,127 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    Well I'm needing the performance mainly for development work and a 770 isn't a big enough update from my 680, though a 980 is a staggering difference. I would rather SLI my 680 than upgrade to a SLI 770. A Titan classed card would be more beneficial to me due to the amount of cores and the VRAM.
    I'm not sure I follow your logic.

    #1. No one said anything about a single 770, the comparison was made between a single 980 and SLI 770s. The SLI 770s will be about 20-30% faster than a single 980, with not much difference in price.

    #2. How is a Titan more beneficial to you than an SLI setup? A Titan basically is nothing more than SLI on a single card. As far as performance and power goes, it's identical to an SLI setup of the same chipset. The ONLY performance advantage of having a Titan setup is being able to SLI Titan cards and run a 4 GPU SLI setup.

    #3. You've totally failed to address the point I made, which is that a 770 SLI setup will be 20-30% faster than a single 980 with not much difference in price. And I suspect that price difference will be even less in a week or two as the older 770 and 780 cards start dropping in price.


    You could SLI your 680s, but you would have significantly less performance than SLI 770s. You could buy a single 980, but you'll have significantly less performance than SLI 770s with very little difference in price. On a price vs performance basis the 980 is only worth the increased price if you are running multiple 980s in an SLI/Titan setup with multiple GPUs. By itself in a single GPU setup it's not a big enough leap over existing SLI setups to justify the price tag.

    In fact if you want to be pushy about this subject then I'll point out that you can SLI two 760s for about $450 and end up with a faster, more powerful setup than a single $600 GTX 980.
    Last edited by Completely Average; 4 Weeks Ago at 16:28.

  22. #47
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    W-s-M
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,523
    Rep Power
    83
    Points
    20,599 (0 Banked)
    Items User name style
    1. I said "I would rather SLI my 680 than SLI 770's" because it would be even cheaper to just purchase a single 680 than it is to purchase 2x 770's. Also the TDP would be too high on SLI 770's so I would have to purchase a new PSU yet I could squeeze another 680 in fine.
    2. A Titan is more beneficial to me because, like I pointed out, it has more CUDA cores and much higher VRAM (6GB as opposed to 3GB). It is a low end workstation card at an affordable price unlike the Quadro's at a similar spec.
    3. I have not failed to address the point because a single 980 would mean that I do not require another PSU purchase. My PSU cost me 120 at the time and for ~200W more than the one I have now would require me to spend ~50 more. The 980 runs with less TDP than my current 680 - ergo the 980 is cheaper than SLI 770's, especially in the long run. The 7xx series are power hungry.

    Also even if I wanted to SLI 760's I would still have to purchase a new PSU. The issue here is that I am wanting to have a single card with high VRAM and CUDA cores. Remember that I said "for development" and 680's nor 780's are technically good enough for it. 980's though don't have enough VRAM and considering that I have a 4K monitor I need all the VRAM I can muster and all of these cards don't have enough. If the Titan Z dropped to 1000 though I would pick it up immediately as that has 12GB VRAM and an insane amount of cores perfect for rendering and encoding.

  23. #48
    Forum Guru
    jlippone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,824
    Rep Power
    86
    Points
    10,258 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    Would tripple 4K eat up 12GB!?
    pure 3x4k takes 189.84375MB (3840*2160*(4*2)*3)/1024/1024)
    If one would use G buffer similar to second sun it would be ~996.6796875 (42? bytes per pixel for all in gbuffer and others.)
    So no, without using huge amounts of memory for MSAA and such no-one uses 12GB for framebuffer.

    It is good to know that textures, geometry, temporal buffers, GPU-simulations take their space too, so yes it's possible to use. (kind of doubt it is the case with current gen content though.)
    For scientific simulations and offline rendering.. well you use as much as you can.
    -------
    Couple of nice blog posts about OpenGL.
    The Truth on OpenGL Driver Quality
    Things that drive me nuts about OpenGL

  24. #49
    PSU Live Streamer
    shepard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,428
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    24,961 (0 Banked)
    I'm still thinking about making the switch. Currently running an MSI r9 290. Being a big fan of open world games and with some many about to hit PC around end of this year...the change over may make games like Assassin's Creed Unity that are boasting a.i crowds in the thousands look very impressive.

    Come find me on Twitch.tv!


  25. #50
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,509
    Rep Power
    40
    Points
    20,127 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsh View Post
    I said "I would rather SLI my 680 than SLI 770's" because it would be even cheaper to just purchase a single 680 than it is to purchase 2x 770's. Also the TDP would be too high on SLI 770's so I would have to purchase a new PSU yet I could squeeze another 680 in fine.
    But SLI 680s wouldn't put you over the performance of a 980, would it?


    A Titan is more beneficial to me because, like I pointed out, it has more CUDA cores and much higher VRAM (6GB as opposed to 3GB). It is a low end workstation card at an affordable price unlike the Quadro's at a similar spec.
    You are wrong there.

    A single 770 has 1536 Cuda Cores. Double them up in SLI and you have 3,072 Cuda Cores. A GTX Titan only has 2,688 Cuda Cores.

    Also, two 4GB 770s in SLI has 8GB of VRAM, not just 3. Heck, a single 4GB GTX 770 has 4GB of VRAM, not just 3, so how exactly did you come to the conclusion that running two 4GB GTX 770s in SLI would result in less memory than is on a single card?


    I have not failed to address the point because a single 980 would mean that I do not require another PSU purchase. My PSU cost me 120 at the time and for ~200W more than the one I have now would require me to spend ~50 more. The 980 runs with less TDP than my current 680 - ergo the 980 is cheaper than SLI 770's, especially in the long run. The 7xx series are power hungry.
    Weren't you the same person telling me I overspent by getting an 850 watt power supply? I do hope you see the irony of you now telling me that the less powerful setup is a better option because you lack the proper powersupply.


    Also even if I wanted to SLI 760's I would still have to purchase a new PSU. The issue here is that I am wanting to have a single card with high VRAM and CUDA cores. Remember that I said "for development" and 680's nor 780's are technically good enough for it. 980's though don't have enough VRAM and considering that I have a 4K monitor I need all the VRAM I can muster and all of these cards don't have enough. If the Titan Z dropped to 1000 though I would pick it up immediately as that has 12GB VRAM and an insane amount of cores perfect for rendering and encoding.
    Well, considering you were wrong on both the CUDA core and VRAM counts, and you lack a proper powersupply, you will forgive me if I question how much "development" you actually do with the card. It is funny seeing you complain about the cost of a powersupply to replace the underpowered one you bought after having spent all of that money for a monitor which your video card can't really push.
    Last edited by Completely Average; 3 Weeks Ago at 18:09.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.