Page 1 of 10 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 226
  1. #1
    Master Sage
    HellsJester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alone in the Cold
    Posts
    14,314
    Rep Power
    128
    Items User name style

    Windows 10 Available On July 29th




    http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwin...le-on-july-29/

    Anyone here going to get this Day 1?


    IF YOU DON'T GET THE WINDOWS 10 APP POP UP, COPY/PASTE THIS TEXT IN NOTEPAD AND SAVE IT AS A .BAT FILE.
    RUN AS ADMIN, FOLLOW THE STEPS. (REBOOT CAN HELP)
    Last edited by WaxWeazle; 06-11-2015 at 21:57. Reason: WaxWeazle -- Added a fix for those who can't get the icon to pop up!


  2. #2
    Elite Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    In the 36 Chambers
    PSN ID
    Lymphatik
    Age
    26
    Posts
    12,460
    Rep Power
    110
    I think I probably will.

  3. #3
    Master Poster
    K2D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PSN ID
    Cathode
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,368
    Rep Power
    86
    Items LuluYunaDaft Punk
    Will get it 50 weeks after launch. Less beta the better!





  4. #4
    Administrator
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    5,740
    Rep Power
    108
    Got a little notification in Windows today to "reserve" my copy. Don't know why when the thing is free tbh :/

    Anyway i signed up, and according to the little pop-up, Win10 will auto download in the background when available so i guess i'll be getting it on launch....

    From why i've seen it looks like a much better OS than 8, or even 8.1.
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  5. #5
    Media Content Manager
    WaxWeazle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Belgium
    PSN ID
    kipkebab92
    Age
    23
    Posts
    4,869
    Rep Power
    36
    Haven't got it yet, will probably do though

    @Fijandoce; Read a guy's comment on a dutch site, where this article was posted as well. He was talking about 'Windows Runtime' and that they'd try to push Windows 10 towards people to create a big audience and have quite some developers with this to support the system and thus get great benefit out of this themselves.

  6. #6
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    45
    Posts
    10,663
    Rep Power
    134
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Yeah, I'm jumping on this day one. I'm ready for something new. Been on Windows 7 for so damn long. Really looking forward to trying their new browser. Hopefully it isn't as much of a pain to develop for as IE.










  7. #7
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    I got the Windows 10 icon on the taskbar last night. I wanted to ask you guys. Is this really free or is this only for a limited time after having to download Windows 10?

    Also, will there be chance that it'll affect my current files, softwares from Windows 7? The thing is I also have these bluetooth apparatus connected and don't want that to get messed up and some important school documents.

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  8. #8
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    8,273
    Rep Power
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by HellsJester View Post



    http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwin...le-on-july-29/

    Anyone here going to get this Day 1?
    It would be surprising if this wasn't delayed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    Got a little notification in Windows today to "reserve" my copy. Don't know why when the thing is free tbh :/

    Anyway i signed up, and according to the little pop-up, Win10 will auto download in the background when available so i guess i'll be getting it on launch....

    From why i've seen it looks like a much better OS than 8, or even 8.1.
    It isn't. You only have one year from launch to upgrade at no additional cost. Which is likely what the reservation is for.

  9. #9
    Elite Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    In the 36 Chambers
    PSN ID
    Lymphatik
    Age
    26
    Posts
    12,460
    Rep Power
    110
    No notification for me

  10. #10
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by MATRIX 2 View Post
    It would be surprising if this wasn't delayed.



    It isn't. You only have one year from launch to upgrade at no additional cost. Which is likely what the reservation is for.
    Just noticed at the bottom of the message with an asterisk and I quote " Yes, free. This limited time offer is for a full version of Windows 10. Not a trial. 3GB download is required; internet service fees may apply."

    Also, it says on top during on steps. "After installing, Windows 10 is all yours."

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  11. #11
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    34
    Posts
    7,122
    Rep Power
    103
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    No notification for me
    You need to fully upgrade Windows before you'll see the notification.

    I'm going to reserve it for my Windows 7 and Windows 8.1.

  12. #12
    Elite Sage

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    In the 36 Chambers
    PSN ID
    Lymphatik
    Age
    26
    Posts
    12,460
    Rep Power
    110
    Yeah I'll claim it on my laptop too. restarted now I patiently wait. With W10 and a new GPU I might actually start playing my PC again

    edit: Still nothing. In fact, it is looping 3 updates
    Last edited by BBK..; 06-01-2015 at 18:05.

  13. #13
    Forum Sage
    MATRIX 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    D.C.
    Posts
    8,273
    Rep Power
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by robvandam111 View Post
    Just noticed at the bottom of the message with an asterisk and I quote " Yes, free. This limited time offer is for a full version of Windows 10. Not a trial. 3GB download is required; internet service fees may apply."

    Also, it says on top during on steps. "After installing, Windows 10 is all yours."
    Did you skip over that part? It isn't free like apples OS updates which can be done at any time at no cost.

  14. #14
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by MATRIX 2 View Post
    Did you skip over that part? It isn't free like apples OS updates which can be done at any time at no cost.

    Don't they mean the offer that's going around? I'd imagine since it does also say "Not a trial" which usually means that's obviously limited.

    And if it limited for a time, the computer will regress to former OS, right?

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  15. #15
    Administrator
    Fijiandoce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pacific Isles of Doceness
    PSN ID
    Fijiandoce
    Posts
    5,740
    Rep Power
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by MATRIX 2 View Post
    It isn't. You only have one year from launch to upgrade at no additional cost. Which is likely what the reservation is for.
    A technicality. As far as i'm concerned, free is free.

    Wasn't implying Microsoft had suddenly become a charity, and would give Windows away for free forever.

    Quote Originally Posted by BBK.. View Post
    Yeah I'll claim it on my laptop too. restarted now I patiently wait. With W10 and a new GPU I might actually start playing my PC again

    edit: Still nothing. In fact, it is looping 3 updates
    Yeah, i'll get this on my old and ageing laptop as well just to see how it runs.

    Time to do some dustin'
    Sig courtesy of the_jim


  16. #16
    Sonata Dusk
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    23
    Posts
    17,486
    Rep Power
    154
    I'll wait 6-12 months and see if anything nasty is going on under the hood or if it's buggy. If it's all good then I'll happily upgrade.

    If not then win7-4lyfe.

  17. #17
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    Need help from you guys. My Windows 7 states that the only thing that won't work correct is my Norton 360 after the upgrade. Does that mean I'll lose my protection?

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  18. #18
    Master Poster
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,002
    Rep Power
    70
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Quote Originally Posted by Fijiandoce View Post
    Got a little notification in Windows today to "reserve" my copy. Don't know why when the thing is free tbh :/

    Anyway i signed up, and according to the little pop-up, Win10 will auto download in the background when available so i guess i'll be getting it on launch....

    From why i've seen it looks like a much better OS than 8, or even 8.1.
    Same here but I've not got auto downloads on I do them manaully but I'll be making a disc image of my install and back ups of all my games and stuff before I do upgrade, I am just curious as to how you would reinstall it should you need to would you need to install your previous OS first then lay Win 10 over it because it says in my Windows 10 Info window before I signed up it requires 3GB of space ??????


    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
    Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
    INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
    Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1866mhz@1.60v)
    OS Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD
    Spare Storage: SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD 1TB Blue 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up)
    HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card
    OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU

  19. #19
    Master Poster
    Nakatomi Uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Uk
    PSN ID
    Nakatomi_Uk
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,002
    Rep Power
    70
    Items Intel Core i7PS3 SlimFinal Fantasy VIIIFinal Fantasy VII
    Quote Originally Posted by robvandam111 View Post
    Need help from you guys. My Windows 7 states that the only thing that won't work correct is my Norton 360 after the upgrade. Does that mean I'll lose my protection?
    Just use Avast 10 Free Edition, Spyware Blaster and Spybot Search and Destroy 1.6.2 along with Windows inbuilt firewall what I have been using for years along with my routers and I've never had an issue plus it doesn't hog system resources like Norton does and McAfee


    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
    Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
    INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
    Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1866mhz@1.60v)
    OS Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD
    Spare Storage: SanDisk 128GB SSD, WD 1TB Blue 7,200rpm, Hitachi 1TB 7,200rpm (Back-Up)
    HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card
    OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU

  20. #20
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nakatomi Uk View Post
    Just use Avast 10 Free Edition, Spyware Blaster and Spybot Search and Destroy 1.6.2 along with Windows inbuilt firewall what I have been using for years along with my routers and I've never had an issue plus it doesn't hog system resources like Norton does and McAfee
    Easy for you to say. Norton 360 has definitely took care of things. I have two years left on my subscription.

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  21. #21
    Power Member
    Bitbydeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    15,175
    Rep Power
    147
    Saw this popup last night, i'll wait for you guys to beta test before I install it.

  22. #22
    Community and Technical Manager
    Christopher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Warner Robins, GA
    PSN ID
    Cand3Js
    Age
    45
    Posts
    10,663
    Rep Power
    134
    Items Death Note LAtlusVitaPS3 FatMetal Gear Solid 4Naughty Dog360 SlimGuerrilla GamesApple
    Quote Originally Posted by robvandam111 View Post
    Easy for you to say. Norton 360 has definitely took care of things. I have two years left on my subscription.
    Probably need to download the latest version. Uninstall your version and reinstall. You subscription should still be valid just your installation doesn't like Windows 7. That's my guess anyway.










  23. #23
    Sonata Dusk
    Nerevar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Equestria
    Age
    23
    Posts
    17,486
    Rep Power
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by robvandam111 View Post
    Easy for you to say. Norton 360 has definitely took care of things. I have two years left on my subscription.
    If Norton, a paid subscription anti-virus, can't keep up with Windows updates then it's not worth sing or supporting. Avast is free and preforms better than Norton (also a lot less annoying to use...).

  24. #24
    Master Poster
    robvandam111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    PSN ID
    robvandam111
    Age
    26
    Posts
    3,209
    Rep Power
    59
    Items User name style
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerevar View Post
    If Norton, a paid subscription anti-virus, can't keep up with Windows updates then it's not worth sing or supporting. Avast is free and preforms better than Norton (also a lot less annoying to use...).
    From the Windows 10 Task menu. It says "These Apps won't work correctly after the upgrade" and lists the following: Norton 360. I am not sure what will happen after the upgrade but it sure does keeps up with the windows updates.

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    Probably need to download the latest version. Uninstall your version and reinstall. You subscription should still be valid just your installation doesn't like Windows 7. That's my guess anyway.

    So you're saying I could re-install Norton AntiVirus and still have my subscription active as if nothing didn't happen to it?

    3DS: 4613-6960-4293


  25. #25
    PSU Technical Advisor
    Varsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    PSN ID
    UK-Varsh
    Age
    34
    Posts
    7,122
    Rep Power
    103
    Items User name style
    The only software that won't work with Windows 10 for me is ASUSTeK's AI Suite which is something I use to control my system fans and CPU overclocking. ASUS are really good with their support so they'll fix that pretty quickly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.