Latest PSU headlines:

Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    40
    Posts
    142
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    140 (0 Banked)

    Can I record TV on my PS3?

    Can the PS3's HD be used to record television like a tivo? If so does this require an additional OS to be installed? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Forum Elder
    DontKnowMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,802
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    395 (0 Banked)
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

    Unless you know how to hack your system.

  3. #3
    Master Guru
    Cyrann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    6,722
    Rep Power
    76
    Points
    204 (0 Banked)
    No, you are not able to do this yet... and I will say it again, yettttttt!

  4. #4
    Veteran
    Pong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,408
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    4,071 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Papethova View Post
    Can the PS3's HD be used to record television like a tivo? If so does this require an additional OS to be installed? Thanks in advance.
    There was an announcement by Sony within the last couple of days that said a tivo-like functionality will be added in a firmware upgrade 3Q 2007.

  5. #5
    Super Elite
    TidusX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,308
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by PONG View Post
    There was an announcement by Sony within the last couple of days that said a tivo-like functionality will be added in a firmware upgrade 3Q 2007.
    It will most likely be done through a USB device that attaches to the PS3.

  6. #6
    Apprentice
    andywhitto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    496
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    12,810 (0 Banked)
    Now thats better than ordering stuff off of the PS network ! -- like in xbox live where u can order tv shows an stuff , wen we can just record off the tv lol.
    Hopefully this actually happens !
    P . S . 3

  7. #7
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    131 (0 Banked)
    With linux installed you could more than likely install mythtv (linux dvr software). Then all you need is a usb tuner and you're all set. Although setting up mythtv takes a bit of getting used to.

    It would be better if recording tv was integrated into the xmb.

  8. #8
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    34
    Posts
    241
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    267 (0 Banked)
    Q3 '07? I thought it was due as part of the March '07 "major" update? But yeah, either way, you'll probably want to get a large external hard drive for storage, plus, of course, the USB TV tuner. Cool, though.


    My Setup - PS3 60 GB, Sony 55" SXRD HDTV w/1080p, Sony 7.1 Receiver w/ JBL Surround Package
    PSN ID: JadedRaverLA
    My PS3 / Blu-ray blog -- http://jadedraverla.spaces.live.com/

  9. #9
    The Hedon
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by andywhitto View Post
    Now thats better than ordering stuff off of the PS network ! -- like in xbox live where u can order tv shows an stuff , wen we can just record off the tv lol.


    Well, you can use a 360 to record TV as well, so it's really a moot point.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Papethova
    Can the PS3's HD be used to record television like a tivo? If so does this require an additional OS to be installed? Thanks in advance.

    No, the PS3 will never natively support this unless they release a TV Tuner add-on, or a paid Live TV Subscription service over the internet that allows you to record tv streaming from the internet.

    At the moment, you can get USB TV Tuner cards with remote (including HD support) for just under a $100.

  10. #10
    The Hedon
    Guest
    delete. posted in error. sorry. Thanks.

  11. #11
    Superior Member
    Delta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    615
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    1,125 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by mynameissean View Post
    With linux installed you could more than likely install mythtv (linux dvr software). Then all you need is a usb tuner and you're all set. Although setting up mythtv takes a bit of getting used to.

    It would be better if recording tv was integrated into the xmb.
    Yes this would be your best bet instead of waiting untill Sony updates the PS3 to accept Tivo.

  12. #12
    Veteran
    Pong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,408
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    4,071 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by JadedRaverLA View Post
    Q3 '07? I thought it was due as part of the March '07 "major" update? But yeah, either way, you'll probably want to get a large external hard drive for storage, plus, of course, the USB TV tuner. Cool, though.
    This is what Phil Harrison said at a recent event:
    Firmware will be constantly updated, with the view of a tv tuner and tivo like service to be available in the 3rd quater of 2007.
    Link To Article

  13. #13
    Batchild27
    Guest
    At first the Tivo function was going to be an add on VIA USB port. But recently it has been annoucned that it will be a firmware thing. I heard also that they are having a patening problem, and the "networks" are worried that with the new Linux thing(the copying of dvd's) that their shows will be taped and sold without permission...like what torrents are doing for some movies. Just some food for thought

  14. #14
    The Hedon
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Batchild27 View Post
    At first the Tivo function was going to be an add on VIA USB port. But recently it has been annoucned that it will be a firmware thing. I heard also that they are having a patening problem, and the "networks" are worried that with the new Linux thing(the copying of dvd's) that their shows will be taped and sold without permission...like what torrents are doing for some movies. Just some food for thought
    The only thing the firmware would do is enable the ability to connect a TV Tuner hardware device, or enable the ability to record TV over the internet through a subscription, and it would have to be streaming television. There would have to be some sort of monthly fee for the internet based television though.

    A console (or PC for that matter) cannot record TV with out the required TV Tuner hardware.

  15. #15
    Superior Member
    haomaru87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    27
    Posts
    529
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    253 (0 Banked)
    but u can go to video.google.com to download some free sdtv standardized stuff and watch it on the TV. I've been downloading Vietnamese movies for my mom and she loves the PS3 now!
    PS3/X360 ID -> HaomaruGold
    Everything you need to know about videos on PS3!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  16. #16
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,924
    Rep Power
    64
    Points
    385 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by PONG View Post
    There was an announcement by Sony within the last couple of days that said a tivo-like functionality will be added in a firmware upgrade 3Q 2007.

    A tivo-esque function, that would be sweet---as long as that tivo esque function isn't adding downloadable TV shows to the Playstation store.

    I have a media center PC. I really should get a TV tuner card for it. I could either then watch the video through my 360 or burn it to DVD and watch it on the PS3.

  17. #17
    Elite Member
    designit123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,759
    Rep Power
    67
    Points
    132 (0 Banked)
    I hope any tv tuner will work and we won't be forced to buy a specific ps3 one.....

    SONY has been allowing almost any device to connect to ps3 so I am guessing you will be able to buy any tv tuner and connect it via usb


    PNP: dizzan

    Most anticipated: Next Pes, Uncharted, 8 days, HS, Mario Gal, Alan Wake

  18. #18
    The Hedon
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by haomaru87 View Post
    but u can go to video.google.com to download some free sdtv standardized stuff and watch it on the TV. I've been downloading Vietnamese movies for my mom and she loves the PS3 now!
    Yeah? I'm still searching for Seasons 1 and 2 of "The Office" on the internet for "free"

  19. #19
    Veteran
    Pong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,408
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    4,071 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by overthirtygamernj View Post
    A tivo-esque function, that would be sweet---as long as that tivo esque function isn't adding downloadable TV shows to the Playstation store.

    I have a media center PC. I really should get a TV tuner card for it. I could either then watch the video through my 360 or burn it to DVD and watch it on the PS3.
    Here is one for $25 although I don't know about the quality: LINK

  20. #20
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    34
    Posts
    241
    Rep Power
    56
    Points
    267 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by The Hedon View Post
    The only thing the firmware would do is enable the ability to connect a TV Tuner hardware device, or enable the ability to record TV over the internet through a subscription, and it would have to be streaming television. There would have to be some sort of monthly fee for the internet based television though.

    A console (or PC for that matter) cannot record TV with out the required TV Tuner hardware.
    It's much more fun to argue with you, but obviously you're right here.

    Quote Originally Posted by The Hedon View Post
    Yeah? I'm still searching for Seasons 1 and 2 of "The Office" on the internet for "free"
    Uh, bittorrent. They're very readily available -- awesome show, BTW.


    My Setup - PS3 60 GB, Sony 55" SXRD HDTV w/1080p, Sony 7.1 Receiver w/ JBL Surround Package
    PSN ID: JadedRaverLA
    My PS3 / Blu-ray blog -- http://jadedraverla.spaces.live.com/

  21. #21
    The Hedon
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by PONG View Post
    Here is one for $25 although I don't know about the quality: LINK
    I recommend this one:

    Hauppage 500 Dual Tuner

    This is the one I have on my XP MCE 2005 machine, and it is also Vista supported. This way you can watch and record two different channels at the same time.

  22. #22
    Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    141
    Rep Power
    57
    Points
    131 (0 Banked)
    how would this be possible? you would have to connect the cable to the ps3, and i don't believe it has cable inputs...? unless you guys are talking about the USB device having these inputs, i guess i'm not too clear on that. i suppose that would be pretty sweet though...

  23. #23
    Supreme Veteran
    A7MAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    17,971
    Rep Power
    123
    Points
    3,065 (3,044 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    I'd like this however Australia's HD content sucks ass.
    Gaming on all platforms right now.

  24. #24
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    187
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by DDustiNN View Post
    how would this be possible? you would have to connect the cable to the ps3, and i don't believe it has cable inputs...? unless you guys are talking about the USB device having these inputs, i guess i'm not too clear on that. i suppose that would be pretty sweet though...
    Instead of connecting an USB tuner to the PS3 and an external hard drive, I think Sony is going to use the locationFree TV tuner and stream the video to the PS3 over the network, they already doing that with the PSP so I'm sure is very easy to do it on the PS3, and as far as hard drive, Sony may allow you to use the built-in, an external or network attach storage (NAS) or networked PC.

    Of course, this is just my educated guess or prediction.

  25. #25
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    22
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    122 (0 Banked)
    no not yet
    should be able to in the future

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New Stranglehold Footage (Gameplay)
    By Grovestreet in forum PlayStation 3 Games
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 19:20
  2. Halo 3 to be revealed?
    By StrikeMaster Ice in forum PlayStation 3
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 12:58
  3. Factor5 only for ps3
    By straightballin in forum PlayStation 3
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 20:47
  4. raffle vs line
    By Pinhead in forum PlayStation 3
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 04:45
  5. Hi: See The Brand new rap..
    By ps2land in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2006, 18:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.