Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: WiFi Help

  1. #1
    BluBoi22
    Guest

    WiFi Help

    I have the 60 gig and try to set it up through the Network Connection Settings or something like that. I pick Wireless, enter the WEP code, and everything else but when I do the Connection Test it always says it failed. I have a PSP I play online with WiFi and it works just fine.

    Do you think my PS3 has a faulty WiFi component? I have heard of people returning PS3's for this before.

    My dad is an electrical engineer and knows all this stuff about computers and internet and everything, but he can't even figure out the problem. He said he would try to call Sony technical support tomorrow.

    Does anybody have the number to call Sony for PS3 problems?

    I'm dying to play the Motorstorm, GTHD, and F1 demos!

    I need help!!!! Please somebody!!!!


    I go through the whole connection process, pick all the options, then do a connection test.

    It says it failed to find an IP address.

  2. #2
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    34
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    267 (0 Banked)

    wifi probs

    dude go to the playstation website like every 1 else and the number for tech is there

    duh

  3. #3
    Member
    Springer101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    31
    Posts
    148
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BluBoi22 View Post
    I have the 60 gig and try to set it up through the Network Connection Settings or something like that. I pick Wireless, enter the WEP code, and everything else but when I do the Connection Test it always says it failed. I have a PSP I play online with WiFi and it works just fine.

    Do you think my PS3 has a faulty WiFi component? I have heard of people returning PS3's for this before.

    My dad is an electrical engineer and knows all this stuff about computers and internet and everything, but he can't even figure out the problem. He said he would try to call Sony technical support tomorrow.

    Does anybody have the number to call Sony for PS3 problems?

    I'm dying to play the Motorstorm, GTHD, and F1 demos!

    I need help!!!! Please somebody!!!!

    I go through the whole connection process, pick all the options, then do a connection test.

    It says it failed to find an IP address.


    FORGET THE WEP CODE!!!!! Just use the option "none"

  4. #4
    Elite Member
    streetracer67856's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,550
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    2,021 (0 Banked)
    try resetting your router, I had this problem as well when I first got my Playstation 3, but I reset the router and everything started working, and if that doesnt work, sometimes wat happens is that your connection is there but u have to get the new update in order for ur online to work, so try that as well

    post back if any of this works for u

    PS3 Slim 120GB upgraded to 320GB
    Now Playing: Portal 2, Crysis 2, Infamous 2 Beta

  5. #5
    BluBoi22
    Guest
    I already updated the firmware by downloading it to my PSP then installing from there onto my PS3 and that didn't change anything.

    I will reset my router and see if that works thanks!

    FORGET THE WEP CODE!!!!! Just use the option "none"
    I don't think I can get access to our router without the WEP Code, and I use it just fine on my PSP so I don't think that's the issue.

  6. #6
    Veteran
    DINAMO788's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    26
    Posts
    4,929
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,307 (0 Banked)
    Items Arsenal
    just a question. you get the new updates by downloading them online right? if you cant connect to the internet how would you download the new updates?

  7. #7
    blind
    Guest
    He just said he downloaded it in his psp.

  8. #8
    Elite Member
    streetracer67856's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,550
    Rep Power
    62
    Points
    2,021 (0 Banked)
    yea, he said that he used his psp to get the updates

    it's weird though, i had that same problem, and i reset my router and then went to system update and it said i needed an update yadda yadda yadda, smooth sailing every since

    idk man, ill try and see wat else u can do

    PS3 Slim 120GB upgraded to 320GB
    Now Playing: Portal 2, Crysis 2, Infamous 2 Beta

  9. #9
    BluBoi22
    Guest
    I reset the router and that didn't help at all!

    It still says it failed to obtain/locate and IP Adress.

    I hooked up with an ethernet cable today and downloaded the Resistance and GTHD demo but couldn't play them. I had to go to bed because it's 12, parents lol.

    I can't wait to get up tomorrow and play them. I'll also try to call Sony tomorrow because the ethernet isn't in the place where I would usually have my PS3.

  10. #10
    Veteran
    DINAMO788's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    26
    Posts
    4,929
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,307 (0 Banked)
    Items Arsenal
    i have no psp. if i have the same problem then im screwed. that will not fly with me

  11. #11
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Age
    48
    Posts
    30
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    wired connection doesn't always work

  12. #12
    Veteran
    DINAMO788's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Age
    26
    Posts
    4,929
    Rep Power
    84
    Points
    6,307 (0 Banked)
    Items Arsenal
    no. you can just stop there and take a deep breathe. calm down and ask like a normal person if you wish to get a response. that post will get you nowhere except in trouble

  13. #13
    Apprentice
    TheFury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    453
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    247 (0 Banked)

    Updates!

    To get updates, you can....
    Get it directly through the ps3, through internet
    dl it you a usb stick on you computer, then bring it to ps3
    im pretty sure every new ps3 game has the newest update, so just buy a game and you should be able to update it that.
    Hope that helped.....
    "For they that are discontented under monarchy call it tyranny; and they that are displeased with aristocracy call it obligarchy: so also, they which find themselves grieved under a democracy call it anarchy." -Thomas Hobbes, Leviathan.

  14. #14
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    169
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    124 (0 Banked)
    ya 4 real i hav no friggin clu u hafta sony tech and ask them cause that is very odd if ur dad cant figure it out man what the ****

  15. #15
    Superior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    699
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    273 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by HARDCOREPLAYSTATION View Post
    ya 4 real i hav no friggin clu u hafta sony tech and ask them cause that is very odd if ur dad cant figure it out man what the ****
    Write in english and i'll help you.
    PS3プログラマー

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-2009, 01:04
  2. What happened to my picture topic?
    By REFLEX in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 22:12
  3. Did anyone seriously buy this game?
    By XGamer360 in forum Trash Can
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 00:58
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2006, 11:28
  5. FACTOR 5 "Best interview" game LIAR
    By pepe in forum PlayStation 3 Games
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2006, 07:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.