Latest PSU headlines:

View Poll Results: Do you use aim assist in Resistance

Voters
92. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    58 63.04%
  • No

    34 36.96%
Page 1 of 2 1 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 49
  1. #1
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,936
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)

    Poll: Do you use aim assist on Resistance?

    Do you use aim assist online??

    I didnt until one of my clan members compelled me to last night. It amde a huge diffrence it my ability, but it also felt kinda like cheeting to me
    edit : aim assist is on by default
    You need permission from the members to use their quotes. Memeber wanted his removed

  2. #2
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    22
    Posts
    300
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    121 (0 Banked)
    ya i bet it does that kinda ruins the game lol jk

  3. #3
    Apprentice
    tenchi86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    30
    Posts
    265
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    No, if I cannot hit the target on my own then I will just have to miss.

  4. #4
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,936
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by tenchi86 View Post
    No, if I cannot hit the target on my own then I will just have to miss.
    you guys are aware that it is set to on by default right??
    You need permission from the members to use their quotes. Memeber wanted his removed

  5. #5
    Forum Guru
    BlindSight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,560
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    343 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by STL.GANGSTER View Post
    you guys are aware that it is set to on by default right??
    Never thought about it myself. I use whatevers default.

    One question.. - If you practice with it off does that help you improve for when you turn it back on?

  6. #6
    Elite Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,936
    Rep Power
    65
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by AlternateReality View Post
    Never thought about it myself. I use whatevers default.

    One question.. - If you practice with it off does that help you improve for when you turn it back on?
    I think so. I ahve played wiht it off for about 2.5 months. Durring that time I did ok, usually at about the 50% mark or lower ( on the leader board)Then I turned aim assist on last night, and I was at the top of the leader board every game
    You need permission from the members to use their quotes. Memeber wanted his removed

  7. #7
    Elite Guru
    Beemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    24
    Posts
    5,037
    Rep Power
    73
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I guess if its default then I use it. I did something like this on Socom 3.
    I walked around with a sniper rifle on killing fields small. I used a medium scope at first because I wasn't good enough with the high. I could move the cross hairs fast enough, zoom in and move again and fire. I figured eventually I would have to learn, so I went into a whole bunch of respawns and just kept practicing. Eventually you get used to it.


  8. #8
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    33
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    124 (0 Banked)
    I hate it...I used to use it on the Normal difficulty offline, and I did okay...then I turned it off on Hard and I did much better. I feel that it pulls me off of headshots and towards a better percentage shot (body), which I don't like at all. Plus, I usually have my sensitivity setting to 9, so with it pulling towards the target plus whipping around I'll over shoot the target. I just prefer letting my fingers loose

  9. #9
    Superior Member
    BonafideZulu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    22
    Posts
    916
    Rep Power
    58
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I have it on, no purpose of giving yourself a self imposed disadvantage.

    Quote of The Year
    "When will you xbots learn nobody gives a f**k what u think, are u that desperate for attention? When you typed all I saw was Blah blah Bill Gates' d**k in my mouth blah blah." - InfamousAssasyn (Game Trailers, Uncharted, TV Spot)

  10. #10
    Forum Elder
    Kamahl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    22
    Posts
    2,785
    Rep Power
    60
    Points
    135 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BonafideZulu View Post
    I have it on, no purpose of giving yourself a self imposed disadvantage.
    Agreed, but to be honest, it only helps you to "follow" the target when it's moving, but you gotta move the right analog too or it won't help at all...

  11. #11
    Superior Member
    Makarov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    25
    Posts
    782
    Rep Power
    54
    Points
    125 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by BonafideZulu View Post
    I have it on, no purpose of giving yourself a self imposed disadvantage.
    Exactly my thoughts...although I turned mine off for a while to see if I got better.
    I think I did too. But its always on now.

  12. #12
    Superior Member
    NINJAFLAME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    584
    Rep Power
    52
    Points
    126 (0 Banked)
    i didnt think it was working so i turned it off now its so much better
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    sig and avatar made by spacecataz - folding@home Team: 54376
    PSN: NINJAFLAME / EVOFLAME XBL: MEGAJIMZ

  13. #13
    Master Sage
    soldier one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13,532
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    5 (0 Banked)
    I turned it off because people know how to save a person when you have it on. For example your shooting a guy, then his teamate will jsut run by you so your target follows him instead.

    I turn it off, but for some reason my things keep getting reset. I have my controller layout changed, and my sensitiivity way up yet it all resets when it feels like it so i stopped letting it bug me and i play with whatever it feels like doing.

    VOTE FOR JOHN McCAIN!
    The night was never so fearfull....

  14. #14
    Who's your daddy?
    poematik14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    22
    Posts
    3,340
    Rep Power
    61
    Points
    122 (0 Banked)
    I didnt know I was using it until I checked right now...whatever, I dont wanna get used to a new thing again.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PSwii60 FTW

  15. #15
    Veteran
    PS3 rocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    4,420
    Rep Power
    71
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    I can't remember if i turned it off or not, it the option was ever presnted to me i would have turned it off but i'm not sure lol. Next time i play i will turn it off.

  16. #16
    Forum Guru
    BlindSight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,560
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    343 (0 Banked)
    What sensetivity level do you guys use.

    I put mine on 3. Reallys helps my sniping.

  17. #17
    Master Sage
    soldier one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13,532
    Rep Power
    93
    Points
    5 (0 Banked)
    Mine is around 7 or 8 because i need to turn around and shoot the guy about to shotty me in the back. Plus sniping needs to be quick. It takes some skill to do it at this level, i mean you probably cant do it the first day you get the game, but its alot better than being low when your good at it.

    VOTE FOR JOHN McCAIN!
    The night was never so fearfull....

  18. #18
    Forum Guru
    BlindSight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,560
    Rep Power
    63
    Points
    343 (0 Banked)
    Mines on 3 and I win every snipers game I play by like 30 kills.

    It just makes the motion of the reticule alot smoother.

    Different strokes for different folks.

    Edit: With a lower sensitivity I can Snipe close range easily.

  19. #19
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,669
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    5,963 (440 Banked)
    I leave it on for now, and when I learn how to play better, I will(maybe) turn it off.
    But I am starting to think that it follows torso too much, causing headshots to be much harder. I think it is probably better to turn it off once you learn how to play properly. My estimate would be when you get to Rank Level 13: Gunnery Sergeant, or the rank after.

    As for the sensitivity, I guess that higher number allows you to aim faster, but lower number allows you to snipe better. So you are either sniper, or a direct attacker.
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  20. #20
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    69
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Theres AIm assistance? I never checked, is it automatically set to on?

  21. #21
    Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    24
    Posts
    33
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    124 (0 Banked)
    I disagree..I snipe much better with it up at 9. Maybe it has a lot to do with attempting to learn Quicksniping in SOCOM, but once you get the timing and the reflex of poppin R1 when the crosshairs hit the guy, it makes the rest of the game easier (mainly flipping around and killing the guy behind you)

  22. #22
    Christmas Thief
    Grinchy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    A little cave outside of Whooville
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4,646
    Rep Power
    68
    Points
    4,197 (0 Banked)
    I started out with it off, and my horrible lack of skill paired with no auto-aim was pretty sad.

    I haven't tried turning it off since I got better, maybe I will. But really, I don't see any reason to feel bad about using it. Pretty much every console game uses magnetism(auto-aim) in some way without giving you an option. Counter-strike for xbox was one of the few that didn't have it and controlled great.

  23. #23
    Forum Guru
    Terminator 101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
    PSN ID
    Terminator101
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,669
    Rep Power
    69
    Points
    5,963 (440 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
    Pretty much every console game uses magnetism(auto-aim) in some way without giving you an option.
    I don't think Killzone has auto-aim. I played it lot, and I always found it hard to focus on moving target and the aim would be jumpy even at quite low sensitivity, which would indicate that there is no auto aim present.
    Almost everyone will say: buy console that has games that you want, and those who say otherwise are ignorant.

    Playstation Move for the win!

  24. #24
    Apprentice

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    52
    Posts
    242
    Rep Power
    0
    Points
    0 (0 Banked)
    Quote Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
    I started out with it off, and my horrible lack of skill paired with no auto-aim was pretty sad.

    I haven't tried turning it off since I got better, maybe I will. But really, I don't see any reason to feel bad about using it. Pretty much every console game uses magnetism(auto-aim) in some way without giving you an option. Counter-strike for xbox was one of the few that didn't have it and controlled great.
    There's no 'magnetism' in auto assist in Resistance.

  25. #25
    Extreme Poster
    Sufi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Addison, TX.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    27,891
    Rep Power
    179
    Points
    73,627 (0 Banked)
    Achievements IT'S OVER 9000!
    Quote Originally Posted by redshift View Post
    There's no 'magnetism' in auto assist in Resistance.
    Yes there is, it is also exactly the same as Halo did, which people didn't know about for a long time.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Does anyone else think...
    By Fatcat in forum Nintendo
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-27-2007, 01:05
  2. Kutaragi Out at Sony
    By turtle553 in forum PlayStation 3
    Replies: 129
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 13:21
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 14:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

PSU

Playstation Universe

Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Abstract Holdings International Ltd. prohibited.
Use of this site is governed by our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.