A guide on How To Use Headsets on PS3

J

Jack007

Guest
#1
OK, so not alot of people know how to do this, so i thought id share this with you. There are two types of headsets that can be used on the PS3. USB headsets, and Bluetooth headsets. Nearly all are compatable.

There are two ways a headset can be connected for use on the PLAYSTATION®3 computer entertainment system.

Bluetooth

The PLAYSTATION 3 system is enabled with Bluetooth technology, which will accept Bluetooth wireless headsets. Sony Computer Entertainment Australia, Inc (SCEA) cannot guarantee every Bluetooth headset will register (or "pair") with the PLAYSTATION 3 system. We recommend contacting the manufacturer of the Bluetooth device to determine if it is compatible with the PLAYSTATION 3.

To enable the Bluetooth wireless headset on the PLAYSTATION 3, use the XMB on the PLAYSTATION 3's main menu to navigate to the Settings icon and then scroll down to the Accessory Settings. Select the Register Bluetooth Device option to register (or "pair") the Bluetooth-compatible headset with the PLAYSTATION 3.

Once the headset is registered you will have to make adjustments in the Settings > Accessory Settings > Audio Device Settings option before you can use the headset with compatible PLAYSTATION 3 format software.

NOTE: Bluetooth-compatible headsets will not work with PlayStation®2 format software titles. They will only work with compatible PLAYSTATION 3 format software titles and with the online Chat feature that is available to PLAYSTATION®Network users.

USB

Through the USB ports on the front of the PLAYSTATION 3 system, you may utilize a USB certified headset. Devices that are approved for use with the USB ports of the PLAYSTATION 3 system must either be made by SCEA or be USB certified. Typically, a USB certified product will have the official USB logo on the package, manual or on the "belly" label of the product itself.

The USB headset (for the PlayStation®2) that was released by SCEA is compatible for use with the PLAYSTATION 3 system. Other PlayStation released items that can be used range from the Eyetoy Camera, Singstar Microphones and 3rd party USB headsets will also work (Please refer to the manufacturer or manual for this information).

To enable the USB headset on the PLAYSTATION 3, use the XMB on the PLAYSTATION 3's main menu to navigate to the Settings icon and then scroll down to the Accessory Settings and select the Audio Device Settings. Once the USB headset has been connected you will be able to select your Input Device as the name of the headset and the Output Device will then mirror this as the name of the Headset.

Hope this helps you to get your headset working, so you can flame and talk over the next to your other friends!
 
May 13, 2007
391
0
0
35
#3
Thanks Jack for making this. I was asking around about this, but was being ignore by a lot of people in here. I gave you a + rep.
 

Serinous

Elite Sage
Feb 18, 2008
10,494
19
0
#6
Thank you, and + rep.

I have never used headsets for PS3, because I was never in a clan, until recently. I am planning to play MGO with my clan, and will be using a headset. This thread is definitely helpful.
 
Jun 2, 2008
247
0
0
119
#7
I take it since my Optical Cable is still plugged in, it overrides my USB headset?

I changed these settings to Logitech USB Headset and I see no change at all. Do I need to reboot or reset the system?
 
Jun 12, 2008
3
0
0
39
#8
What is confusing about this info (which is exactly word for word what I get from Sony Customer Support on the issue) is that headset only VOICE audio is available through the headset. No in game, music or other things can be audible when using Bluetooth or USB headset.

For us that want sound from our PS3 directly to our headsets are out of luck.
 

Paul1967

Superior Member
Jan 4, 2008
980
0
0
31
#9
Is there anyway to register your bluetooth headset so that if you are in the middle of cod4 or any game that you can just switch it on and it will connect. My mates jabra one does it, i have a Motorolla one
 
Apr 15, 2008
13
0
0
46
#11
i have the saitek GH20 vibration headset and it has 2 jacks which i plug into my tv and i can hear the sound from my ps3 in my headphones but i also plug the usb into the ps3 but my headset is not picked up so i cant use the mic. can anyone help me?
 
Jul 2, 2008
86
0
0
#13
im looking for a bluetooth headset. ive never had one before so i dont know which to buy can you help me please. its between the MGS4 limited edition headset or GioTeck Bluetooth Wireless Headset.
 
Aug 19, 2007
1
0
0
41
#14
I bought a cheap one on buy.com for less than $15, it works great. I don't think that a fancy one is needed but if you want to get one I'm not going to stop you.
 
Jul 2, 2008
86
0
0
#15
i just bought the giotech wirless bluetooth headset, i havent tried it yet but it doesnt feel right when i put it on its too loose. but hopefully the sound will be good and thats all i need.
 
B

BattleAxe

Guest
#16
Thanks for the info, But can anybody tell me which is the best headset to buy for reliability/performance, Been told any bluetooth device will work but i want to know like i have already stated as i have heard some bad feedback regarding crackling,etc!!
 

HellsJester

Master Sage
Aug 22, 2006
14,316
79
0
Alone in the Cold
#17
[QUOTE="Jack007, post: 0]
Once the headset is registered you will have to make adjustments in the Settings > Accessory Settings > Audio Device Settings option before you can use the headset with compatible PLAYSTATION 3 format software.
[/quote]

Explain what kind of adjustments need to be made please.
 
Apr 29, 2008
50
0
0
34
#19
@ aaronbudgell

I bought a Motorola H375 and I was having the same problem to.
It would begin to scan and never stop. Then I realized I had registered the headset first on my cell phone. So I had to turn off the Bluetooth on my phone, then the PS3 detected it.

So maybe you registered the headset on another device first.
I guess it can only be registered on one device at any single time.
 
Jul 3, 2008
99
0
0
#21
This may be silly but I was wondering if I can use a Bluetooth Headset for 2 devices............?

I just recently bought an iphone and will be purchasing a Bluetooth headset for it: can I use the headset for both the PS3 and the iphone (not at the same time though)? Or is that NOT even a possibility?

Just trying to save a few bucks and NOT buy 2 of them when I can only use one of them at a time anyways..........

Thanks for the feedback gang!
 
Jul 29, 2008
5
0
0
38
#22
My Bluetooth Giotek EX-01 sux bigtime, once i paired it i couldnt connect to it and now i have sorted that out im dissapointed with the build, it doesnt fit comfortably and sound is awfull.
 

Live25

Apprentice
Jul 13, 2008
196
0
0
43
#23
[QUOTE="radic202, post: 0]This may be silly but I was wondering if I can use a Bluetooth Headset for 2 devices............?

I just recently bought an iphone and will be purchasing a Bluetooth headset for it: can I use the headset for both the PS3 and the iphone (not at the same time though)? Or is that NOT even a possibility?

Just trying to save a few bucks and NOT buy 2 of them when I can only use one of them at a time anyways..........

Thanks for the feedback gang![/quote]
Yes, it's possible. Check compatibility before you purchase though. I use the Motorola HT820.
 
Jul 3, 2008
99
0
0
#24
[QUOTE="Live25, post: 0]Yes, it's possible. Check compatibility before you purchase though. I use the Motorola HT820.[/quote]


Thanks I will check it out!

I did look at the one that Apple sells for eh IPhone3G but I was told is it ONLY made for the iPhone3G and will NOT work in anything else! So not sure if this is true or not! And at $159.99 Canadian, it does not come cheap to have to buy 2. But will check yours out this weekend.

Thanks again my Friend!
 
May 25, 2008
18
0
0
49
#25
[QUOTE="PaulMartin1967, post: 0]Is there anyway to register your bluetooth headset so that if you are in the middle of cod4 or any game that you can just switch it on and it will connect. My mates jabra one does it, i have a Motorolla one[/quote]

Hi i have a GioTeck Bluetooth Wireless Headset and once registered and set up on the 'Audio Devices' settings bit, it can ALWAYS be switched on mid game when playing COD 4 etc.

Hope yours can do the same!:)
 
Aug 12, 2008
7
0
0
#26
my ps3 wont connect to my headset even though it is registered and the ps3 can detect it. it keeps saying error code 10080009.

any suggestions?
thanx

PSN id:Its-Shane
 
Aug 18, 2008
4
0
0
#27
i hope someone can help me before i smash my ps3 into little pieces.



I bought a cheap motorola BT headset and it worked once b4 an update. I thought the headset went bad so today i bout a logitic usb headset and it worked for a few minutes on GTA4.......NOW it wont work at all.:gta:

In watching the screen where you set what input device to use and the logitic headset comes on and off and wont work at all(goes grey and then white constinaly):sad::sad::sad:
 
Aug 18, 2008
4
0
0
#29
[QUOTE="Live25, post: 0]Click on OK once it connects, it should hold then.[/quote]
thats not it.......the ps3 sees the headset and then doesnt then does then doesnt then does then doesnt



im trying to show that the ps3 is playing pika-boo with whatever headset i have....the logitech says on box that its FOR A PS3!


i just want to be able to talk to my buddies online:suspect:
 

Live25

Apprentice
Jul 13, 2008
196
0
0
43
#30
Are you setting the headphones to pair before or after you set the PS3 to scan? Try it both ways, maybe that will solve the problem.