Accident in supermarket car park

Shaunyac

Master Guru
Dec 24, 2007
Wayles.
I was in ASDA carpark on Thursday driving down the lanes looking for a space to park when I was going past a guy reversed out of his bay (without looking obviously) and went into the rear side of my car.

Was it all his fault? We've been quoted ~£1000 for the damage and the insurers said they are sending an assessor out today. They said it was hit fault and he shouldn't be able to claim off our insurance, but I'm only a provisional driver so if he did, wouldn't our premiums be through the roof?

I will post pics later when I cba to go outside, not feeling very well at all.

Pez_555

Master Guru
Feb 3, 2006
i dont think it affects your premium if it turns out to be the other guys fault.

i had a similar thing happen to me (although my car was parked outside my mates whilst i was round his). my insurance didnt change, still paying £18 a month.

BigYoSpeck

Superior Member
Dec 29, 2008
[QUOTE="Pez_555, post: 0]i dont think it affects your premium if it turns out to be the other guys fault.

i had a similar thing happen to me (although my car was parked outside my mates whilst i was round his). my insurance didnt change, still paying £18 a month.[/quote]

Oh believe me it does :) Three none fault claims in 4 years and there are plenty of insurers that won't touch me because of it even with my ncb being intact. Being in an accident, even none fault will affect your premiums, especially as a new driver with little to no ncb.

This sounds like it was obviously his fault. He has emerged while you were proceeding correctly and struck your car. Your insurer should be able to recoup the costs from this. If it was at a supermarket there will probably be cctv which will make it open and shut.

Worse comes to the worse though it will end up split liability which means the insurers split the cost in some manner, not always 50/50 though. This will loose your ncb and increase your premiums though.

V3nom