Anyone here use external on PS4 now that we FINALLY can?

Lethal

Administrator
Staff member
Nov 14, 2007
14,974
326
83
42
#2
Not yet. I have a 2tb drive in my console now and still have like 500gb of space left. I am sure I will get an external drive soon though.
 

keefy

Supreme Veteran
Nov 18, 2007
19,031
261
83
The Sock Gap
#3
If you have latest firmware version and the drive is USB 3.0 then 4TB is fine, infact 8TB is the maximum.
I use 2TB external drive which is powered by the USB itself with no problems .


http://blog.us.playstation.com/2017/02/03/ps4-system-software-update-4-50-features-detailed/

External HDD Support

It’s easy to upgrade the HDD that came with your PS4, but if you’re still looking for more storage space on the console, we’ve got you covered. With this update, you have the option to store content to an external HDD. Just plug a USB 3.0 HDD into your PS4, and voilà, you now have more space on the console.

This is compatible with HDDs up to 8TB in size. You can download and install applications directly to your extra storage, and the saved contents are easily manageable through the settings menu.
 
Last edited:

Fenix

Elite Sage
Aug 19, 2007
11,842
85
48
32
Ontario, Canada
#6
So is 4 TB too big? I have no problems saving $40. lol


[QUOTE="keefy, post: 6528265]If you have latest firmware version and the drive is USB 3.0 then 4TB is fine, infact 8TB is the maximum.
I use 2TB external drive which is powered by the USB itself with no problems .


http://blog.us.playstation.com/2017/02/03/ps4-system-software-update-4-50-features-detailed/[/QUOTE]

Any idea if playing games off an external drive is as fast as an internal one? Not sure which route I'm better off going. (not that I have an external big enough to backup my PS4 so it's in general not something I want to deal with.
 
Feb 6, 2016
61
0
6
Cleveland, Ohio USA
#7
I have a 6TB Western Digital My Book external on my PS4 Pro. Working great.

The biggest complaint I have is that if you use folders (and who doesn't) and you rebuild the database, it will kick all (at least I think it was all) the installed games in the external out of the folders and back to individual icons on the main menu, forcing you to sort them back into the folders one by one. That's a little annoying as I used to rebuild the database about once a month to keep the system running smooth. Haven't tried it since the 4.55 update though....maybe they fixed that.
 
May 10, 2008
358
0
16
43
#8
Fenix, same boat here.
Really want to know if there are any issues playing games form the external.

BUT, I would go for the larger one all day long. The way I see it, you get the 2TB and one day you will run out of room and wish you had the 4TB. Plus, if you eventually stop using it for the PS4 you have a 4 TB free to use. $40.00 for double the storage.

Thanks for the link though, I'm going to be getting a couple of those. One for the PS4 and one for the family.
 

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,883
191
63
49
Down Under
#10
[QUOTE="Rayder, post: 6528317]I have a 6TB Western Digital My Book external on my PS4 Pro. Working great.

The biggest complaint I have is that if you use folders (and who doesn't) and you rebuild the database, it will kick all (at least I think it was all) the installed games in the external out of the folders and back to individual icons on the main menu, forcing you to sort them back into the folders one by one. That's a little annoying as I used to rebuild the database about once a month to keep the system running smooth. Haven't tried it since the 4.55 update though....maybe they fixed that.[/QUOTE]

Wtf?
Dam why are PS4 high maintenance , this sounds like a pain in the arse.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

keefy

Supreme Veteran
Nov 18, 2007
19,031
261
83
The Sock Gap
#13
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 6528347]What exactly is it Keefy?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]
I think its like Windows chkdsk, it only seems to do it when i switch off the PS4 without a proper shutdown.

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk
 

Fenix

Elite Sage
Aug 19, 2007
11,842
85
48
32
Ontario, Canada
#14
Alright, before I go out and spend $140 for an external. If you were me would you opt to upgrade the internal stock 500 GB HDD, even though you don't have anyway to back up the current HDD so you may lose some stuff, or would you go for the 4 TB external? It'll be about the same price either way.

Just not sure which way is the better way to go. Plan to order it once I wake up so I'll have it by Friday.
 

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,883
191
63
49
Down Under
#15
I can only say I have two 3tb 7200rpm HDD hooked up to my Xbox one and they work better than the internal. I don't think you will have any issues, but get a wd my book they are 7200rpm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Fenix

Elite Sage
Aug 19, 2007
11,842
85
48
32
Ontario, Canada
#16
Have the option to get a WD My Book 4 TB for $10 more. Guess I should jump on it? Not little and needs wall power but i guess it'll be worth it?
 
Last edited:
May 10, 2008
358
0
16
43
#17
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 6528358]I can only say I have two 3tb 7200rpm HDD hooked up to my Xbox one and they work better than the internal. I don't think you will have any issues, but get a wd my book they are 7200rpm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

From what I see they are 5400rpm?

Fenix where are you seeing that Amazon.ca? This one?
https://www.amazon.com/Book-Desktop-External-Drive-WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN/dp/B00E3RH61W
 
May 10, 2008
358
0
16
43
#18
Ah, from the WD website:


  • We can only guarantee drive capacity. We cannot guarantee a particular internal hard drive model, data interface, rotational speed, or cache size in the external hard drive enclosure.

http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1704

 

Fenix

Elite Sage
Aug 19, 2007
11,842
85
48
32
Ontario, Canada
#19
[QUOTE="wunderless, post: 6528381]From what I see they are 5400rpm?

Fenix where are you seeing that Amazon.ca? This one?
https://www.amazon.com/Book-Desktop-External-Drive-WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN/dp/B00E3RH61W[/QUOTE]

Staples.ca. If you google you can find a $10 off coupon so it's like $11 more after taxes. But clearly that isn't worth it.

[QUOTE="wunderless, post: 6528382]Ah, from the WD website:


  • We can only guarantee drive capacity. We cannot guarantee a particular internal hard drive model, data interface, rotational speed, or cache size in the external hard drive enclosure.

http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1704

[/QUOTE]

So it's $10 more for a bigger sized enclosure? Alright. Was under the impression My books were 7200. lol


Seagate here I come, just seems more practical without being another gigantic box I need to make room for. Thanks for being a little detective. lol
 
Last edited:

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,883
191
63
49
Down Under
#20
DO NOT BUY THAT SEAGATE!

My books are 7200 yes

And that link is for an old model

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LQQHL4E/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

$114 for 4TB

You will not find a 7200 2.5 portable.
If you buy a USB powered 2.5 kiss your ass goodbye to performance.


And you don't need one of the backup models they come with software you will never use.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
May 10, 2008
358
0
16
43
#21
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 6528389]DO NOT BUY THAT SEAGATE!

My books are 7200 yes

And that link is for an old model

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LQQHL4E/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

$114 for 4TB

You will not find a 7200 2.5 portable.
If you buy a USB powered 2.5 kiss your ass goodbye to performance.


And you don't need one of the backup models they come with software you will never use.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

In the questions section of that amazon add all questions (that I read through) asking what rpm get answered with it being a 5400rpm. How do you know it is 7200rpm? Everything I have read said WD doesn't guarantee 7200rpm.

Also looks like aWD's all have the software, not that it matters I guess.

I was looking at one of this little portable ones but then realized the performance might not be up to par.
I'm not to excited about replacing internally and reloading etc.

*note* Not arguing here, trying to get schooled, certainly sounds like you know more.
 

keefy

Supreme Veteran
Nov 18, 2007
19,031
261
83
The Sock Gap
#22
Kiss performance good bye. Yes indeed. 5400rpm drive takes about 5 seconds longer to load stuff.
These are internal drives connected to the SATA port but how worse can it be for USB drives?

[video=youtube;cyZuSc-n6fM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyZuSc-n6fM[/video]
 
#23
PS4 external hard drive setup[/URL]. What I would do is transfer the games to the external hard drive and keep the 500GB for other things. Or transfer the games to the external HD, then replace the 500GB and upgrade it to like 1TB or 2TB. But from what I read in the guide you can use up to 8TB for your external so that may be enough for you.

Oh also, when you have the external HD only games get saved on it. Game data, photos, videos, etc. stay on your internal HD.