Building my first PC - enlisting expertise please!

Shockwave

PSU Editor
Nov 11, 2007
Ireland
Hey-o, all!

The time has come to build my first ever gaming PC - a concerted effort to offset the depression that'll set in once I return to Ireland from my stint in Canada.

I'm not tech savvy in the slightest; I mean, I can get around a computer pretty seamlessly and can do general day-to-day stuff but I'm not versed in the likes of matching parts up to complement each other, SLI, over-clocking, BIOS stuff, G-Sync, N-Sync (heh) or optimizing all of the components to get the best out of them for gaming. Basically, I don't know much of the nitty gritty but I'm starting to learn.

Either way, if anyone can look at the below build and offer suggestions/answer the following - I'd love to enlist the expertise of any and all of you lovely folk:

http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/tpnk9W

- What sort of performance can I expect from the below?

- Is it an overall good build?

- Can you suggest a case that would work/leave room for any upgrades? (Don't wanna go too overboard as the budget will still need to take into account speakers, monitor, keyboard, mouse, etc.

- Would I need a sound card/anything else necessary?

Though the list there is in PC part picker, I'm looking to buy all of it off the Irish version of Newegg as seen in the screen below (the card isn't in stock at the minute but retails at €260.99) as it seems overall cheaper.

https://imgur.com/a/gvDsE

Thanks for reading and I hope you can help!

Last edited:

Fijiandoce

Administrator
Staff member
Oct 8, 2007
Can't go wrong with that build.

You may want to invest in a slightly higher wattage PSU (~600W) since capacitors degrade slightly over time. Maybe switch to a GTX 1070 also, since any modern CPU will breeze through almost any title, meaning your GPU is going to determine your visual/performance.