Dragon Age Noob

TAZ427

Elite Guru
Nov 29, 2007
I just started playing last night, put about 2hrs into it, got past the Demon Pride at the first major Rift.

I failed on my first attempt. I did the drain rift, and then ran over to wail on the Demon Pride w/ my crew. Then a couple of demons get dumped in, I take them out and go back to wailing but it was immune at that point. I looked around and I didn't see that I could drain the rift again (wouldn't pan up, which I tried.)

I ran around a bit around the base of the rift and no prompts and I was hitting x to try to drain it from random spots. My crew has used all but 2 of my potions and are now dying at this point. Finally I went into turn based to slow things down and see if I can figure it out because I recalled draining the rift was needed to make the Demon Pride vulnerable. Finally when moving the cursor over a spot and hitting x and then R2 to move forward I was able to drain the rift. It was too late at this point, but very annoying. Second play through of this, I had figured it out and we wiped it clean w/ only a couple of health potions used (I haven't used any health potions on myself outside of this battle, but I can tell that I hate the health potion system, sure give me a health potion option, but let me heal over time as well.)

My question, are there a lot of battles that require you to do something that isn't obvious (or obvious how to do it, such as this case?) Effectively making you go into turn base mode. I'm sure I'll end up using turn based mode, but so far it's not my favorite mode. I probably need to get used to it though.

I'm a two hand wielding human male. I'd be interesting to hear peoples tactical approaches. I tend to dive into towards the biggest baddest thing on the screen, maybe knock out some of the PIA peripheral mobs if they're going to do too much damage. But I'm willing to learn any effective strategies for such a character, who I'll probably play mostly as a tank.

Oct 23, 2014