is a second job in these times considered greedy?

Demon2005

Dedicated Member
Jul 2, 2009
Vancouver, Canada
Everyone knows that there is a 'Global Economic Crisis' going on right now and that there are people out of a job, or making less at their current job. this situation is not as bad in Canada but people are still slow about hiring new employees. Now I am a fully licensed auto technician working in a Ford dealer in Canada, I get paid by job, so if I am not working I don't make money. For the last couple years things have dropped off and now it's a given that I won't make my hours when I am at work, the average is about 8-9 hours in a 10 hr day.

I have been thinking about getting a second job, one to help out with the loss of hours, and two to have something to do on my days off, which are a lot. I have been told by my friends that this is both a good idea and a bad idea, cause it will make me look greedy. what do you guys think?

k.cuthbertson

Dedicated Member
Nov 25, 2008
I'd say go for it. I just lost my co-op job and i'm looking for another job, but hey if you can get two man, more power to ya. The only thing that would be greedy is if you just kept the money to horde..you gotta spend it if you wanna help the economy. Think of it this way, if you spend the extra money you make on luxuries you provide the person who makes those luxuries with a paycheck.

BigYoSpeck

Superior Member
Dec 29, 2008
Hell if you need the money and are willing to give up the time who's business is it. I would say the biggest failing is that of your main employer in not paying you what you need and fully exploiting what you have to give causing you to need to seek a second job.

gster

Paddy McCourt
Mar 13, 2009
Bristol