My first Photoshop portraits...

cruzader

Dedicated Member
Dec 28, 2006
INTRODUCTION
Instead of the quick "look what I did post," I feel like I should go into more detail and explain my experience...

Since none of you know me personally, I used to be considered more of a fine-artist practicing in traditional methods- acrylic painting, and various dry mediums (graphite, charcoal, conte, chalk...) So every year, I would do a self-portrait in a different medium, and I haven't repeated the same medium twice. The latest self-portrait I did was a photo-realistic vector done in Illustrator since I am now mainly design oriented than fine art.

This year, my medium has come down to Photoshop. I've never done digital painting before, and since I can't just jump head on into a self-portrait not knowing a process, I decided to do a series of digital portraits to hone in on my new skill.

I'm fairly proficient in PS, but in terms of photomanipulation. I rarely start anything digital from scratch so it was all new to me. My initial approach was to pretend that the PS canvas was a mere piece of paper. And with that in mind...it was TONS easier than I thought it would be.

ATTEMPTS
I work in Photoshop CS3 with a Wacom tablet that includes pressure sensitivity.

FIRST ATTEMPT

"Skulled"

My first ever digital portrait was made mimicking simple graphite techniques. Made completely from a blank white canvas, I used an amalgamation of fashion models' faces to draw it. At this point, I practically mastered rendering hair (on my first try!) I achieved the hair simply by drawing in strand by strand with the brush tool at 1-7px. However I wasn't happy with the final outcome of the texture on face and cloth. But, instead of being over worked on one image, I went on to the next in my series.

SECOND ATTEMPT
"Gazed"

I started this portrait more like I do with my real paintings. I applied a quick sketch and undertones to flesh out values. I based this "model" of famous actresses.