Rumour: PS4 Specs Leaked, APU Codenamed “Liverpool”

berts08

Elite Guru
Nov 14, 2007
5,630
56
48
37
N.Ireland
#1
A Dutch site claiming to have official specs of the still unannounced PlayStation 4, translated by Google, probably isn’t the most concrete of contributions when trying to decifer a rumour.
But here we are, with news this morning that the PS4 has had some of its internals spilled, even if it’s not entirely obvious whether this is all truth or not.
Let’s have a look.
Firstly, the report discusses the chipset, which contains an APU dubbed Liverpool and a CPU named Steamroller. Codenames, for sure (much like Orbis) but certainly powerful ones.
In terms of RAM, it looks like 2GB, although developers are apparently asking that this be ramped up to 4GB, which sounds a little more plausable.
The rumours mention two main SKUs for the console, a 320GB hard drive, a maximum output of 1080p (thankfully) and the rather obvious inclusion of HDMI 1.4 and Blu-ray playback.
It’s difficult to put too much stock in all this, but those figures seem reasonable. Discussion elsewhere suggests that the GPU isn’t quite as spritely as the site says, rather it’s comparable to a current Pitcairn, not an AMD 7970.
Yesterday Sony confirmed that PS4 games were in development, and offered some explanation why the new console wasn’t shown at E3. At least publicly.
TheSixthAxis understands more PS4 development kits will be going out shortly.
Source: PSX Sense via NeoGAF.
http://www.thesixthaxis.com/2012/06/08/rumour-ps4-specs-leaked-apu-codenamed-liverpool/
 

Ghost

Administrator
Staff member
Aug 12, 2009
13,785
298
83
#2
Yet more specs for the PS4 have been leaked by industry insiders in the wake of E3 where no next gen consoles were shown. According to the Austrian gaming site, the next Sony console will have a chip called Einstein. The site claims that this isn't a traditional CPU but rather living tissue from the brain of genius Albert Einstein. Sony bought his DNA last year and have been able to create a hybrid processor made up of living brain matter which can make unbelievable calculations through small electrical pulses. The site also claims that the system will have 3 RAMS. This sounded strange to us so we contacted them by email and asked if they meant 3GB RAM and they said that the system will actually use three farmyard rams to deal with the systems memory.
Source is very reliable, that's all I'm gonna say. :)
 

Vyse

Extreme Poster
Mar 27, 2006
26,789
358
83
#3
They could easily go with 4GB of RAM or more. It shouldn't be that expensive.
 

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,865
182
63
47
Down Under
#4
Could of called the CPU Manchester :)

In all honesty, unless thi sis the same rumour, we are hearing these specs ove rand over, and if this is truley form a different source than this....

9.The X-Box 3 is going to have an 8-core 64-bit processor (assumedly an i7 or similar design) rated at 1.2 Teraflops. The PS4 will feature a 4-core 32-bit processor. XB3 will be using a GPU running support for DirectX 11, while the PS4 will be using an OpenGL 4 GPU. XB3 is specified to use 4 GB RAM, and the PS4 will be shipped with 2GB.
And given we've actually heard both these specs from different sources now (both 360 and PS3), I think its quit eclear that this guys did indeed have the specs.http://pastebin.com/j4jVaUv0
Way too many co-incidiences now for me.
But wow at the specs. If all the stuff is correct, the PS4 is going to be a mile behind the Xbox.
Taking it all with a grain of salt untill the day they get announced though.
 

LfCpS3

Master Poster
May 22, 2009
3,332
24
0
#5
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 5843243]Could of called the CPU Manchester :)

In all honesty, unless thi sis the same rumour, we are hearing these specs ove rand over, and if this is truley form a different source than this....



And given we've actually heard both these specs from different sources now (both 360 and PS3), I think its quit eclear that this guys did indeed have the specs.http://pastebin.com/j4jVaUv0
Way too many co-incidiences now for me.
But wow at the specs. If all the stuff is correct, the PS4 is going to be a mile behind the Xbox.
Taking it all with a grain of salt untill the day they get announced though.[/QUOTE]

Rumours are just rumours, but if they are true, then yes, SONY will IMO be in some serious trouble.
The xbox already is very easy for devs to make games on, add that to the fact that it might be quite a lot more powerful, not going to be pretty for SONY, unless PS4 is like half the price of the XB3 and still produces good enough graphics and content to compete.

Either way, next gen ill be going for the PS either way simply for the fact i have much more confidence in SONY producing good first party games that i will enjoy, PC for MP and im set.
 

Bigdoggy

Master Guru
Jan 24, 2008
7,250
58
0
40
#6
if sony only uses 2GB of RAM, I will say right now they wont be running a lot of games in 1080p. also, it would be one of most crappy moves sony could make by only putting 2GB of ram in a system, should have 8GB at the least. which would also do 1080p 60fps in 3D most likely.
 

daLa

Veteran
May 22, 2006
4,779
21
0
www.myspace.com
#7
I just hope they don't screw it going with the less powerful console, I've owned PS since the 1st one came out but if Xbox comes up with the most powerful and more delivering system I won't hesitate to change.
 
May 28, 2011
47
0
0
Kentucky, USA
#9
If Sony doesn't make their system very powerful this next time around. I'm going to end up switching to the Xbox.

I hate microsoft. And I'm a fan on the game developers for Sony. But stuff like ram is not hard to come by. Even for the ps3, it never should have been launch with such a low amount of ram. It's quite ridiculous.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#10
You guys all fail. Before spouting nonsense, actually research what it is you're about to talk about before thinking bigger numbers = better.

First off, it is impossible to fit in 4 GB of RAM with the ram module SONY is currently planning on using, which is the GDDR5. Microsoft is using 4 GB of GDDR3, which has a far slower bandwidth than GDDR5. The current GDDR5 stacks measure up to 256 MB each. If Sony wants to use this architecture of ram, they would need 8 chips to reach 2 GB. If they wanted 4 GB, they would need 16 chips, which is completely unfeasible in a small, closed console architecture because it'll take up too much space.
Note that the ram that SONY is using is not some cheap, low bandwidth ram that you buy for your PC. Anything over 2 GB of ram is overkill. Ram is primarily used for multitasking, which is hardly used in a console. Only a fraction of your 8 GB of low quality, PC ram is actually used in gaming. 2 GB of high quality, high bandwidth ram in a console is more than enough.

Now, the GPU is currently rumored to be stronger than the AMD 7850 and weaker than the 7870. I think this is completely reasonable. The 7850-7870 is powerful enough in a console to bring out 1080p resolution without generating heat that would melt your PS4. The AMD 7850 runs ultra settings battlefield 3 in 1080p with 4x AA at a little over 30 FPS. In a console, optimization will bring out even better performance (Usually 2x the PC performance).

The CPU, I have no idea, but devs @ neogaf said it was very powerful, so we have nothing to worry about there.

It seems SONY is interested in a powerful, but more affordable console. If microsoft wants to make a more powerful console, it's their loss. Devs will flock to Nintendo and SONY and then port over to microsoft's. Remember, multiplats are developed from weaker consoles and then ported over to stronger ones. Not to mention the fact that microsoft has no exclusives except Halo. Who will take advantage of the power?
 
Last edited:

Bigdoggy

Master Guru
Jan 24, 2008
7,250
58
0
40
#11
[QUOTE="YouAllFail, post: 5843389]You guys all fail. Before spouting nonsense, actually research what it is you're about to talk about before thinking bigger numbers = better.

First off, it is impossible to fit in 4 GB of RAM with the ram module SONY is currently planning on using, which is the GDDR5. Microsoft is using 4 GB of GDDR3, which has a far slower bandwidth than GDDR5. The current GDDR5 stacks measure up to 256 MB each. If Sony wants to use this architecture of ram, they would need 8 chips to reach 2 GB. If they wanted 4 GB, they would need 16 chips, which is completely unfeasible in a small, closed console architecture because it'll take up too much space.
Note that the ram that SONY is using is not some cheap, low bandwidth ram that you buy for your PC. Anything over 2 GB of ram is overkill. Ram is primarily used for multitasking, which is hardly used in a console. Only a fraction of your 8 GB of low quality, PC ram is actually used in gaming. 2 GB of high quality, high bandwidth ram in a console is more than enough.

Now, the GPU is currently rumored to be stronger than the AMD 7850 and weaker than the 7870. I think this is completely reasonable. The 7850-7870 is powerful enough in a console to bring out 1080p resolution without generating heat that would melt your PS4. The AMD 7850 runs ultra settings battlefield 3 in 1080p with 4x AA at a little over 30 FPS. In a console, optimization will bring out even better performance (Usually 2x the PC performance).

The CPU, I have no idea, but devs @ neogaf said it was very powerful, so we have nothing to worry about there.

It seems SONY is interested in a powerful, but more affordable console. If microsoft wants to make a more powerful console, it's their loss. Devs will flock to Nintendo and SONY and then port over to microsoft's. Remember, multiplats are developed from weaker consoles and then ported over to stronger ones. Not to mention the fact that microsoft has no exclusives except Halo. Who will take advantage of the power?[/QUOTE]

oh my god, read your post again. o_O this is so funny I don't think I can contain myself. HAHAHAHA!!!!!!

So you are saying and I quote "First off, it is impossible to fit in 4 GB of RAM with the ram module SONY is currently planning on using, which is the GDDR5." This is ridiculous and I know for a fact you have no idea what Sony is planning on using. All of a sudden in this forum we have a guy that knows what Sony is doing with the PS4? absurd and quite comical.

This is your first post and I just have to o_O
 
Last edited:
Likes: !SG!
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#13
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843407]oh my god, read your post again. o_O this is so funny I don't think I can contain myself. HAHAHAHA!!!!!![/QUOTE]

Your post is completely over the top ridiculous while mine is reasonable.

Don't insult other members. ~Blacksite
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Bigdoggy

Master Guru
Jan 24, 2008
7,250
58
0
40
#14
[QUOTE="YouAllFail, post: 5843409]Your post is completely over the top ridiculous while mine is reasonable. Go jack off at the thought of 8 GB of GDDR5 ram, tech noob.[/QUOTE]

I never said GDDR5 learn to read. as well as the discussion of GDDR5 wasn't even here. the fact that you brought it up shows you know absolutely nothing and if they were going to use GDDR5 for the next console with 2GB, that console would be extremely expensive. while RAM speed does improve performance you are confusing speed per RAM unit. no need to throw out insults but I can tell by your name that is who you are.

do you honestly think that the next consoles will be equal to the current PC gaming lineup at that time? if you do that has yet to happen.

so tell me, do you know what they are using? so far you are saying you know exactly what kind of RAM they are using and I know that you are lying.
 
Last edited:
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#15
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843407]oh my god, read your post again. o_O this is so funny I don't think I can contain myself. HAHAHAHA!!!!!!

So you are saying and I quote "First off, it is impossible to fit in 4 GB of RAM with the ram module SONY is currently planning on using, which is the GDDR5." This is ridiculous and I know for a fact you have no idea what Sony is planning on using. All of a sudden in this forum we have a guy that knows what Sony is doing with the PS4? absurd and quite comical.

This is your first post and I just have to o_O[/QUOTE]
Don't insult other members ~Blacksite

I was talking in reference to the the rumor that the OP posted. My post is assuming that the rumors posted are true.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#16
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843411]I never said GDDR5 learn to read. as well as the discussion of GDDR5 wasn't even here. the fact that you brought it up shows you know absolutely nothing and if they were going to use GDDR5 for the next console with 2GB, that console would be extremely expensive. while RAM speed does improve performance you are confusing speed per RAM unit. no need to throw out insults but I can tell by your name that is who you are.[/QUOTE]

Didn't I tell you to research? The OP got his rumors from a dutch site, which was translated by neogaf. The OP left out some vital information about the exact type of RAM SONY was using.

Don't insult other members. ~Blacksite
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Bigdoggy

Master Guru
Jan 24, 2008
7,250
58
0
40
#17
[QUOTE="YouAllFail, post: 5843414]Didn't I tell you to research? The OP got his rumors from a dutch site, which was translated by neogaf. The OP left out some vital information about the exact type of RAM SONY was using.
Now go fuck off with your moronic fantasies of 8 GB of GDDR5 ram, tech noob.[/QUOTE]

so what's the RAM sony is using? again you are saying you know exactly what they are using because it's "vital information" lmao

again I never said GDDR5, you obviously don't listen.

plus what you failed to comprehend in my post was that I was saying that Sony would need 8GB to run the next console games at 60FPS even more so with 3D running at 1080p at 60FPS. you are so quick to jump up and insult that you failed to read that part of my post. if Sony wants to run the next games at 1080p 60FPS in 3D which 3D they were pushing they would need 8GB of RAM to accomplish that. if they go with only 2GB of RAM I can already tell you for a FACT that the next games will again be running at 720p or less.
 
Last edited:
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#18
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843417]so what's the RAM sony is using? again you are saying you know exactly what they are using because it's "vital information" lmao

again I never said GDDR5, you obviously don't listen.[/QUOTE]

Stop insulting other members. ~Blacksite

I am not confirming anything. Learn to read. I'm just stating IF what the rumors state are true. I just didn't think it would be convenient if I had to keep adding in, "Assuming this is true" in every sentence I wrote, so I just stated affirmatives assuming that people would be smart enough to figure out that I was talking about the rumors and not talking about what's really going to happen.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 8, 2012
6
0
0
#19
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843417]so what's the RAM sony is using? again you are saying you know exactly what they are using because it's "vital information" lmao

again I never said GDDR5, you obviously don't listen.

plus what you failed to comprehend in my post was that I was saying that Sony would need 8GB to run the next console games at 60FPS even more so with 3D running at 1080p at 60FPS. you are so quick to jump up and insult that you failed to read that part of my post. if Sony wants to run the next games at 1080p 60FPS in 3D which 3D they were pushing they would need 8GB of RAM to accomplish that. if they go with only 2GB of RAM I can already tell you for a FACT that the next games will again be running at 720p or less. [/QUOTE]

Do you have skype? I would love to see the look no your face when you realize that next-gen games won't be a massive leap up in graphics compared to this gen. Developments costs are skyrocketting. Most games will probably be a little better than max settings, 1080p battlefield 3. The rumored specs are fine, unless you want a $600 console. Sony says no. I say no. The majority of gamers say no.
You want top tier graphics? Go PC.
 

coolguy

Ultimate Veteran
May 24, 2005
20,937
20
38
44
long island ny
#20
lets hope they give us 4 gigs of ram but on 2 gigs they can run games at 1080p they do it now. and with the os and other stuff on the flash memory this will free up ram. game consoles ram dont work like pc ram.. but plz sony give us 4 gigs
 

Bigdoggy

Master Guru
Jan 24, 2008
7,250
58
0
40
#21
[QUOTE="YouAllFail, post: 5843429]Do you have skype? I would love to see the look no your face when you realize that next-gen games won't be a massive leap up in graphics compared to this gen. Developments costs are skyrocketting. Most games will probably be a little better than max settings, 1080p battlefield 3. The rumored specs are fine, unless you want a $600 console. Sony says no. I say no. The majority of gamers say no.
You want top tier graphics? Go PC.[/QUOTE]

the difference here is I am not looking for top tier graphics but I am looking for better performance. If the GPU's are going to be beefed up which they will, saying nay on the fact that they wont put out a good GPU is just silly. the fact that there will be a better gpu to what is currently being used as well as other things the system will be able to do, they will need a lot of RAM. AGAIN 2GB of RAM will not make top games running at 60fps in 1080p, it just wont, you will have to kick up the ram more. If you add 3D to that, it's a FACT a pure fact that you WILL....NEED....MORE....THEN....2GB....of....RAM.....for it to RUN....at....1080p....plus.....3D. fact fact fact and technology proves it. so many times you dodged my actually point to twist it to make youself seem smarter and it's not working. READ READ READ friggin READ and stop twisting peoples points. damn

you also forget the fact that RAM right now is dirt cheap compared to what it was. maybe they wont use 8GB but insulting people over such a thought is not only childish in it's own right, but purely hypocritical considering your assumptions were just assumptions and still isn't fact anyway. o_O obviously I'm not the one missing something here, it's you.

8GB to run everything including games that are resource hungry at that time which would be exclusive games. They are going to always one up, the developers will usually one up the previous game if given the chance. lol lets say they made BF4 for the next console, I will bet you anything they wouldn't get it running at 60fps with 2GB of RAM, I already know they wouldn't. 8GB of RAM wouldn't make the console $600, this isn't 2005 where ram was pretty damn expensive. even before that.
 

Vyse

Extreme Poster
Mar 27, 2006
26,789
358
83
#23
Also, don't expect 60 frames per second to become the norm for next-gen titles. Most developers will want to scale back to 30 frames per second since they can showcase more impressive visuals for their games.
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#24
[QUOTE="Bigdoggy, post: 5843411]I never said GDDR5 learn to read. as well as the discussion of GDDR5 wasn't even here. the fact that you brought it up shows you know absolutely nothing and if they were going to use GDDR5 for the next console with 2GB, that console would be extremely expensive. while RAM speed does improve performance you are confusing speed per RAM unit. no need to throw out insults but I can tell by your name that is who you are.

do you honestly think that the next consoles will be equal to the current PC gaming lineup at that time? if you do that has yet to happen.

so tell me, do you know what they are using? so far you are saying you know exactly what kind of RAM they are using and I know that you are lying.[/QUOTE]

actually he is right it's been said that sony is using GDDR5 & that's the reason the 2GB of ram & they are hoping for a breakthrough so they can go for 4GB of GDDR5, & it's said that MS is now going for 8GB of DDR3 ram which is a lot slower but they can get a lot more ram in the console using it.

PS4 is also said to have the better GPU but Xbox Next will have the better CPU. but none of this is the final specs just the info that was giving to the devs sometime last year.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#25
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843597]actually he is right it's been said that sony is using GDDR5 & that's the reason the 2GB of ram & they are hoping for a breakthrough so they can go for 4GB of GDDR5, & it's said that MS is now going for 8GB of DDR3 ram which is a lot slower but they can get a lot more ram in the console using it.

PS4 is also said to have the better GPU but Xbox Next will have the better CPU. but none of this is the final specs just the info that was giving to the devs sometime last year.[/QUOTE]

Unlike pc's which waste ram on games, consoles dont need as much ram at all, because the operating system and background operations dont take as much ram as if on a pc, and also its easier to program the software to run on hardware that is the same in every box, unlike pc which has different configurations, so this wastes ram.

4GB is the top i think next gen will need, 8 GB is over kill.
 
Jan 17, 2006
3,687
10
38
33
Newmarket, Toronto, Ontario
#26
I think I have come up with a decent analogy for this RAM dilemma.
Lets pretend that we have two teams building a house(game),.
Team PS3 has (250MB) people that build the house and who are faster and more efficient that usual, and (250MB Video RAM) people that paint the house
Team Xbox has (500MB shared RAM) of people that do both building and painting, but at the same speed/efficiency as the PS3 painters.

Team Xbox is overall more flexible(making games easier to develop) but less efficient at building than team PS3. More tasks can be performed at the same time but slower.
Team PS3 less flexible (making games harder to develop) but more efficient at building than team Xbox. Not as many tasks can be performed at the same time, but they can be done faster

So which is better? And now apply that analogy to the future gaming systems.

Of course I am just assuming that this is how it somewhat works.
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#27
[QUOTE="Chille, post: 5843610]Unlike pc's which waste ram on games, consoles dont need as much ram at all, because the operating system and background operations dont take as much ram as if on a pc, and also its easier to program the software to run on hardware that is the same in every box, unlike pc which has different configurations, so this wastes ram.

4GB is the top i think next gen will need, 8 GB is over kill.[/QUOTE]


a few reasons that MS would go for a lot more ram than what's needed for just games

1: if you are MS & you have the chance to put a version of Windows8 in every living room through your next console you would want to get it in there with ram to spare for games.

2: even if it's not Windows8 I'm pretty sure MS would want the OS to have lots of reserved ram so they can have all types of features that can run at the OS level so it can multitask even when you are playing games.

3: Kinect 2 & SmartGlass they would want this stuff to be transparent to the Games so they will never take away from the game resource.

4: maybe they have been shown what can be done with 8GB of ram & they like it & they are going for it.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#28
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843646]a few reasons that MS would go for a lot more ram than what's needed for just games

1: if you are MS & you have the chance to put a version of Windows8 in every living room through your next console you would want to get it in there with ram to spare for games.

2: even if it's not Windows8 I'm pretty sure MS would want the OS to have lots of reserved ram so they can have all types of features that can run at the OS level so it can multitask even when you are playing games.

3: Kinect 2 & SmartGlass they would want this stuff to be transparent to the Games so they will never take away from the game resource.

4: maybe they have been shown what can be done with 8GB of ram & they like it & they are going for it.[/QUOTE]

2 and 4. i guess thats true, but for number 3 the smart glass should be done by the tablet anyway so it shouldnt effect the consoles preformance, and kinect2 could have its own cpu on it to make it less demanding, like it originally was going to have before they cut costs
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#29
[QUOTE="Chille, post: 5843648]2 and 4. i guess thats true, but for number 3 the smart glass should be done by the tablet anyway so it shouldnt effect the consoles preformance, and kinect2 could have its own cpu on it to make it less demanding, like it originally was going to have before they cut costs[/QUOTE]


remember the rumor of Kinect being made into the next Xbox?

think about that, that's not saying that Kinect (the camera) will be made into the console but the hardware\software being made into the console. if they are wanting to take Kinect to the next level I'm sure it will use a bit of ram.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#30
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843653]remember the rumor of Kinect being made into the next Xbox?

think about that, that's not saying that Kinect (the camera) will be made into the console but the hardware\software being made into the console. if they are wanting to take Kinect to the next level I'm sure it will use a bit of ram.[/QUOTE]

I havent heard that rumour *there are a few going round lol* but if the wii u os usage is true then i guess ms spike in usage is justified *wii u os uses 500mb ram leave 1gb for games