Rumour: PS4 Specs Leaked, APU Codenamed “Liverpool”

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#31
[QUOTE="Chille, post: 5843661]I havent heard that rumour *there are a few going round lol* but if the wii u os usage is true then i guess ms spike in usage is justified *wii u os uses 500mb ram leave 1gb for games[/QUOTE]

yeah I know & I like the idea of having that much ram reserved for the OS but I think Nintendo is just starting of with that much because they are pretty new to having a OS running on top of the games MS probably wouldn't need as much to do the same things as the Wii U but then again MS might even go beyond that & have 1 - 2GB for the OS & have all types of things going on.
 

Itachi

Forum Sage
Nov 13, 2010
8,246
110
0
Winterfell
#33
So if the rumour is true, Sony is again going for quality than quantity in the RAM department. But as others have said before, sometimes you need raw quantity.
 
Last edited:
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#34
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843666]yeah I know & I like the idea of having that much ram reserved for the OS but I think Nintendo is just starting of with that much because they are pretty new to having a OS running on top of the games MS probably wouldn't need as much to do the same things as the Wii U but then again MS might even go beyond that & have 1 - 2GB for the OS & have all types of things going on.[/QUOTE]

True, i just hope they dont bloat the OS too much theres a limit on what we really need running in background whille playing games, unless they allow someone to stream a movie/music onto smart glass whille one person plays on a game on the main tv.
 

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,865
182
63
47
Down Under
#35
You know you guys are arguing over literally "nothing" untill it all materialises on giant screen at a press briefing from MS or Sony, its all just conjecture.
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#36
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 5843693]You know you guys are arguing over literally "nothing" untill it all materialises on giant screen at a press briefing from MS or Sony, its all just conjecture.[/QUOTE]

who is arguing?
 

btbam

Super Elite
Jan 28, 2011
2,408
24
0
The Moor
#38
anybody find this suspicious that this popped up a few days after the "leaked xbox specs"? Its 100% fake, and vague for that matter.
 

Itachi

Forum Sage
Nov 13, 2010
8,246
110
0
Winterfell
#39
[QUOTE="Chille, post: 5843680]True, i just hope they dont bloat the OS too much theres a limit on what we really need running in background whille playing games, unless they allow someone to stream a movie/music onto smart glass whille one person plays on a game on the main tv.[/QUOTE]

The ps3 xmb used to take 150mb of memory, but after some firmware updates the engineers at Sony optimized it to run on 70mb (50% reduction). Think about it, the entire OS in 70mb is mind boggling
 

akhi216

Apprentice
May 3, 2012
162
2
0
USA
#40
[QUOTE="itachi73378, post: 5843707]The ps3 xmb used to take 150mb of memory, but after some firmware updates the engineers at Sony optimized it to run on 70mb (50% reduction). Think about it, the entire OS in 70mb is mind boggling[/QUOTE]

Yes, Sony has some software geniuses.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#41
[QUOTE="btbam, post: 5843706]anybody find this suspicious that this popped up a few days after the "leaked xbox specs"? Its 100% fake, and vague for that matter.[/QUOTE]

Nope! I posted these specs on NeoGaf & all of the insiders say that the info is legit from what they have been shown, it's not the final specs but this is what they know so far.
 

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,865
182
63
47
Down Under
#44
[QUOTE="coolguy, post: 5843739]There is no way in hell that the next xbox will have 8 gigs of ram. If we are lucky both consoles will have 4 gigs...[/QUOTE]

No where, has any leaked spec show 8gb, lets put that to rest. What we are repeatedly hearing is 4gb for Xbox, 2gb for PS4.

The DDR thing, is also questionable as anyone will take more ram over slightly faster ram, especially given the current AMD fusion works well with DDR3.

Its going to come down to a straight core race, and that (memory can be changed at a moments notice) means we are looking at 4 vs 8.
The APU thing? Might help a little not a lot.
 

Itachi

Forum Sage
Nov 13, 2010
8,246
110
0
Winterfell
#46
What amazes me is that if anything, it should have been the xbox which should have cut corners on the tech due to Microsoft's new emphasis on media functionalities and the new kinect 2. The Kinect would have increased the cost significantly with a built in processor and what not, whereas Sony had no other distractions so they could put in more money for the CPU/GPU.

I have no idea what the hell is SONY doing if this is true, especially after the whole speech about "being the best"
 

Fijiandoce

Administrator
Staff member
Oct 8, 2007
6,506
154
63
#47
[QUOTE="itachi73378, post: 5843744]What amazes me is that if anything, it should have been the xbox which should have cut corners on the tech due to Microsoft's new emphasis on media functionalities and the new kinect 2. The Kinect would have increased the cost significantly with a built in processor and what not, whereas Sony had no other distractions so they could put in more money for the CPU/GPU.

I have no idea what the hell is SONY doing if this is true, especially after the whole speech about "being the best"[/QUOTE]
new CPU/GPU innovation in the same vein as the CBE???

the only way less could be better?? im just guessing however, ignore me :p
 

Ayu

Newbie
May 29, 2012
21
1
0
#48
Is it really too difficult to fit in 4GB of GDDR5? If that's true then I hope the next generation doesn't start until late 2013/2014.
 

Chulo

Apprentice
Feb 17, 2011
243
6
0
#49
you know even though these specs arent final or possibly even fact at least they show that next gen is not going to disappoint :)
my prediction was that sony would go for something like an HD 7770 because from what ign says a 6670 was pretty low....

hopefully sony goes with these instead because having something slightly more powerful then a 7850 would be legendary :D

and please guys even if sony chooses to keep it at 2gb ram at least be happy that your games will look good!
if you want 60 fps or higher there is always pc gaming, consoles will always lack 1 step behind pc but maybe one day both will be equal and with out having to push for resources :p
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#50
[QUOTE="mynd, post: 5843742]No where, has any leaked spec show 8gb, lets put that to rest. What we are repeatedly hearing is 4gb for Xbox, 2gb for PS4.

The DDR thing, is also questionable as anyone will take more ram over slightly faster ram, especially given the current AMD fusion works well with DDR3.

Its going to come down to a straight core race, and that (memory can be changed at a moments notice) means we are looking at 4 vs 8.
The APU thing? Might help a little not a lot.[/QUOTE]

some of the same insiders that said the info that I posted was real as of the end of last year are also the one's who say that MS has jumped to 8GB of ram.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#51
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843821]some of the same insiders that said the info that I posted was real as of the end of last year are also the one's who say that MS has jumped to 8GB of ram.[/QUOTE]

Good to see you on here again ONQ.

Anyway 8GB would be awesome, but might be expensive to do!
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#52
[QUOTE="Chille, post: 5843822]Good to see you on here again ONQ.

Anyway 8GB would be awesome, but might be expensive to do![/QUOTE]

thanks but I never really left I check in almost everyday but I guess I fell out of the habit of posting, (maybe it's the new forum design)

& about the 8GB it's said to be 8GB of DDR3, which is pretty strange & has me thinking that MS is basically making the Next Box a mini Windows 8 box that's going to take over the living room.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#53
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843828]thanks but I never really left I check in almost everyday but I guess I fell out of the habit of posting, (maybe it's the new forum design)

& about the 8GB it's said to be 8GB of DDR3, which is pretty strange & has me thinking that MS is basically making the Next Box a mini Windows 8 box that's going to take over the living room.[/QUOTE]

If thats true then the rumour of it being called xbox8 would be suitable and the xbox infinite also because thats a sideways 8 i hope Sony has a good os for the next playstation hope cross game chat is free like on the vita.
 
Mar 24, 2007
13,193
165
63
33
Your House.
#55
[QUOTE="Dave-The-Rave, post: 5843838]I don't see why they don't just pile the RAM on..RAM IS CHEAP !![/QUOTE]

Consoles dont use normal pc ram, its custom built which causes the price to go up
 

ONQ

Master Guru
Jun 30, 2006
6,110
58
48
#56
[QUOTE="Dave-The-Rave, post: 5843838]I don't see why they don't just pile the RAM on..RAM IS CHEAP !![/QUOTE]

not the fast ram that's on GPU's & used in consoles, but from the looks of things MS is doing just that using the ram like what's used for PC system Ram & piling it on.
 

Lefein

Ultimate Veteran
Jun 9, 2005
22,966
158
63
39
#57
Considering we haven't even seen Sony do any tech demos for PS4, at this time, one can safely assume that they have a two year window before hardware launch. Two years is a lot of time to shrink process and source parts. Sony will go with a $400 and $500 SKU strategy, imho. It all lines up. A 7970 now will not be at all powerful compared to PC parts in two years. It would create quite a performance gap between the WiiU and the 720's rumored specs, however. Mating an APU with a dedicated GPU seems in line with Sony's mantra of putting in processors that can assist with rendering operations as they had with the PS2 and the PS3.

I don't really buy into rumors right now, because specs can change in that amount of time, but I can see this as being a good technological goal for the PS4. It is likely that this is the spec of some kind of phase 2 development kit if not final hardware. The 7970 is a pretty power-hungry card. So, there's almost no way that it's current incarnation would end up in a console kit.
 
Last edited:

mynd

Ultimate Veteran
May 3, 2006
20,865
182
63
47
Down Under
#59
[QUOTE="ONQ, post: 5843828]thanks but I never really left I check in almost everyday but I guess I fell out of the habit of posting, (maybe it's the new forum design)

& about the 8GB it's said to be 8GB of DDR3, which is pretty strange & has me thinking that MS is basically making the Next Box a mini Windows 8 box that's going to take over the living room.[/QUOTE]

It's not uncommon for a devkit to have twice the memory of the final hardware. But I hope it's not a windows 8 machine
 

keefy

Supreme Veteran
Nov 18, 2007
18,982
207
63
The Sock Gap
#60
Doesnt seem too powerful though my mid range computer is more powerful nd has more RAMS but so did my computer in 2006 when PS3 was new.

[QUOTE="mynd, post: 5843243]Could of called the CPU Manchester :)

In all honesty, unless thi sis the same rumour, we are hearing these specs ove rand over, and if this is truley form a different source than this....



And given we've actually heard both these specs from different sources now (both 360 and PS3), I think its quit eclear that this guys did indeed have the specs.http://pastebin.com/j4jVaUv0
Way too many co-incidiences now for me.
But wow at the specs. If all the stuff is correct, the PS4 is going to be a mile behind the Xbox.
Taking it all with a grain of salt untill the day they get announced though.[/QUOTE]

AMD already have a Manchester codename.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...processors#.22Manchester.22_.28E4.2C_90_nm.29
 
Last edited: