PS Vita firmware v1.8 locks memory cards
- Posted August 28th, 2012 at 05:55 EDT by PSU Community
- 4 Comments
A lesser-advertised feature of PlayStation Vita's firmware v1.8 has been discovered.
As soon as you download the update - which brings many requested features such as PSOne game support - you can no longer change the PSN account associated to your memory card without formatting the card itself. If you try and change the account, you are greeted with the following message:
(full credit goes to the member Jucksable from NeoGAF)
If you select Cancel the Vita behaves as if no memory card is inserted in the unit.
Since the PS Vita launched Sony has been criticised due to the high RRP of the memory cards, though so far has yet to slash the price of the accessory. Following the release of the Vita's latest firmware it is safe to suggest that demand for memory cards has just increased as many Playstation users have multiple PSN accounts so they can access as much content as possible.
Leave us your thoughts on this in the comment box below.
Article by Dan
Peter von Frosta | sektoderselters9
- 7:43am EDT - August 28th, 2012
WTF Sony? Is that a joke?
- 10:38am EDT - August 28th, 2012
Lucky for me, I only have 1 PSN account.
- 11:48am EDT - August 28th, 2012
??? wasn't it what we already knew since launch??? anyway we can once again thank the ones who used advantages of having multiple accounts - like those who "shared" accounts to download games for free, for this decision, Sony only ensures thier business, complain to the guilty ones, not the victims.
@3 Sony allows sharing as a feature of the psn, on can only use the psn on 2 ps3s and 2ps vita (and it used to be 4 accounts), your attitude is disturbing, Back in the days when gaming started I could share a game with all of my friends and the gaming companies did just fine, nowadays I am supposed to pay a full price for a virtual version that's got more limitation than any games before and is usually not even a full game with the need of dlc and such.Besides your argument doesn't make much sense, you do realize that by changing the memory card ou can use another psn account,the whole point behind this move is to sell more memory cards, and slowly turn the gaming community into one that equates sharing something to the devil,
- 3:16pm EDT - August 28th, 2012
This will permanently ban this user and delete all associated comments. This action is irreversible, are you SURE you want to do this?!