Black Desert Online MMORPG Pearl Abyss PS4

Black Desert Character Class Guide

Black Desert Online PS4 release date

Black Desert is set to release on the PlayStation 4 on August 22, 2019. The fantasy-flavored MMO has been out for a while on the PC and released last year on the Xbox One, and the game has seen plenty of improvements and changes since its initial release back in 2014. A lot of those updates come in the form of character classes that players get to choose, and there are plenty of them for everyone to find a class to play with. So naturally, here is our Black Desert PS4 classes guide!

Black Desert typically features 15 different classes from support classes, long-range magic users, or close quarters combat experts. Only six of these classes will be available at launch on the PS4 with other classes releasing in future updates. Each class also gets an awakening when you reach a specific level that grants them the ability to wield another weapon and open up some new skills. Unfortunately, the awakenings won’t be available at launch on the PS4 but will be added in a future update on the PS4.

So with the game set to release on August 22 2019, we thought it would be handy to a look at the six classes to see what they offer.

Black Desert Character Classes

Berserker: The Berserker is a massive beast that is pure offence and destruction. The Berserker wields dual axes and his move set is fast and furious, contrary to his size. After awakening, the Berserker unlocks a hand cannon weapon, which looks a lot like Mega Man’s hand blaster. The Berserker is a male-specific class.

Ranger: The Ranger is a bow and arrow user. The Ranger is a great class to keep enemies at bay with constant barrages or long-range attack, and also excels at crowd control with plenty of area of effect attacks. When the Ranger awakens they unlock the Kamasylven Sword as their secondary weapon, allowing them to mix up their long-range prowess with close-range melee attacks. The Ranger is a female-specific class.

Sorceress: The Sorceress is a powerful magic user that also allows her to use devastating melee attacks to take out her foes. Using black magic, the Sorceress can chip away at enemy health for a distance and finish them off as they get closer. After awakening, the Sorceress unlocks a Scythe to dish out major punishment to her enemies. As the name implies, the Sorceress is a female-specific class.

Warrior: The Warrior is your standard and most balanced class. With a great balance of defense and offensive stats, the Warrior wields a Sword and Shield. After their awakening, the Warrior class will be able to wield great swords substituting their shield for a two-handed greatsword. The Warrior is a male-specific class.

Witch/Wizard: Another dual-gendered class, the Witch and Wizard cast magic to devastating large areas of the battlefield. Though their spells take time to cast the results are devastating. After awakening, the Witch acquires the power to summon the Lightning and Earth Spirits giving her full power of the elements. The Wizard, on the other hand, acquires the Fire and Water Spirits giving him the full dominion of the two elements.

These are the current classes available for players in Black Desert. We will naturally keep this article updated as and when more classes are added to the PS4 version of the game.

Stay tuned!

  • MrGutts

    Article needs updated, they only plan on launching with the original classes. Unless they get a massive backlash.

    • Goku270 Ljr

      I’ll get the game when the striker is available 😤