esports Overwatch PS4 News

Overwatch World Cup 2018: Groups Announced

overwatch world cup 2018

The groups for the Overwatch World Cup 2018 have been revealed, along with the 24 countries that will be represented.

Many countries had been vying for a spot, but Blizzard has whittled it down to the last 24 ahead of the August Tournament that will culminate in November of this year.

Here are the four groups of six countries that have qualified for the Overwatch World Cup 2018 group stage.

Overwatch World Cup 2018: Group Stage – South Korea

  • Team South Korea (host country)
  • Team Chinese Taipei
  • Team Finland
  • Team Hong Kong
  • Team Japan
  • Team Russia

Overwatch World Cup 2018: Group Stage – United States

  • Team USA (host country)
  • Team Austria
  • Team Brazil
  • Team Canada
  • Team Norway
  • Team Switzerland

Overwatch World Cup 2018: Group Stage – Thailand

  • Team Thailand (host country)
  • Team Australia
  • Team China
  • Team Denmark
  • Team Spain
  • Team Sweden

Overwatch World Cup 2018: Group Stage – France

  • Team France (host country)
  • Team Germany
  • Team Italy
  • Team Netherlands
  • Team Poland
  • Team United Kingdom

Phase 1 of the voting phase begins soon. Each country will be able to form its competition committee. Blizzard will then decide each country’s GM. Users can apply for the Coach and Community Lead roles themselves, so plenty of social media campaigning will no doubt be occurring.

Only the top 150 players can vote on Coaches, but all users can vote on Community Lead. Player tryouts are set to begin June 1 and go through to July 5.

Fixing the Overwatch BC-101 error

You can find out more on the Overwatch website.

The Overwatch World Cup group stages will begin this August.